Book Review: The Belgrave Legacy

review-cover-The Belgrave LegacyTitle: The Belgrave Legacy

Author: Zara Hoffman

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

Rating: 1 Star (DNF)

AmazonButtonGoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

Fawn doesn’t believe in magic. But it is very real, and has made her a vulnerable target.
Caleb is sick of Hell. When the Devil offers him a way out, he immediately says yes.
Can this young witch trust the dark angel assigned to romance and seduce her? Or will his betrayal tear them apart forever?

The Belgrave Legacy is an upper-young adult paranormal romance. Filled with magic, witches, angels, and demons, this story will keep you turning the pages until the very end. Buy the book now, and discover a world hiding in our own.

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

I could not finish this book. I wanted to. In fact, I made it further into this book than I normally do when I DNF. Chapter 19. 67% into the story. Let me explain what happened.

This book started off slow. There were tedious bits of over explanation of things the main character probably should have already known before the start of the story. The author had a habit of introducing new things into the story by simply dropping them in rather than leading up to the reveals or intertwining bits of information slowly throughout the plot. This lead to several jarring moments where I had to sit back and readjust my world view of the book before continuing on.

The writing itself was for the most part, technically correct. There were a few missing words and weirdly structured sentences, but nothing I couldn’t have pushed past. It was simply the way that information was imparted to the reader and the dramatic way the characters acted within the narrative that made it painful to follow along at times. It lacked a sense of depth to the world building and storytelling.

As the story progressed, I worked my way past these speed bumps. I found that I quite liked the characters and the romance between the main couple (even though their romance sped along exceedingly fast). The story seemed to be leading up to a big moment, as stories do, and that moment came – and things were resolved. They beat the bad guy in a manner of speaking. The romance hit a rough patch – but was working towards being resolved… everything was shaping up for the end of the book–and I thought, “that wasn’t so bad.”… and then I looked at my progress in the book, and I was only halfway through.

It felt strange to hit a section of the book that seemed to be “the end”. It sure felt like The End… but then it didn’t happen. The story kept going, skipping large amounts of time. Events were happening with no lead-up, again just being dropped into the story. There was a training montage… and It got to where I was 67% in the book and sat back and wondered… when is this going to end? I was bored, and not a lot was happening. It felt like the book had completed and then there was this really long, really tedious epilog to go through.. that just happened to take up half the story. So, I put it down.

I didn’t hate the book. I don’t even think it was a bad book. The cover is gorgeous. The title was fitting and mysterious. The characters were likable… the plot was really interesting… but the execution fell flat–and that’s all there is to it. There are going to be a lot of people out there that enjoy this book more than I did… and that’s great. I just didn’t have the patience to sit through another 33% of the book when it already felt like the book had ended, and what I’d already read was only so-so on the execution.

Leave me a comment. You know you want to. *Jedi Mind Tricks*

