Book Review: Splintered Souls

review-cover-splintered soulsTitle: Splintered Souls [Flames of Time 1]

Author: Erica Lucke Dean

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, New Adult, Time-Travel

Rating: 5 Stars

AmazonButtonGoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

When Ava Flynn walks away from a scholarship to Georgetown and moves into her grandmother’s abandoned summer home in coastal Maine, she steps into the center of a centuries-old curse. On her first night, she notices a mysterious leather-clad stranger looking up at her third-story window. For weeks, everywhere she goes, Ava catches more glimpses of him, but she can never get close enough to find out who he is.

Over three hundred years ago, Lady Catherine Fairchild risked everything to protect her unborn child, sending a ripple through time that would change Ava’s future. As the mystery unravels, the horrifying consequences of Lady Catherine’s choices drag Ava deeper into a world she never knew existed, trapping her in a conflict that’s been raging since before she was born. A winner-take-all battle for her soul.

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

Why did this book have to end?

That’s what I shouted when I closed the cover of Splintered Souls by Erica Lucke Dean. It was that good. From the very beginning, the book drew me in with its rich narrative voice and complex characters, and by the time the romance kicked in—well… I was done for.

The plot was engaging, and the characters were equal parts complex and heartbreakingly perfect. The pace moved at a steady jaunt and didn’t let up even as the book ended. Honestly, I can’t think of a single problem to complain about. I loved this book. Maddox, Laith, and Ava were only a few of the amazing cast of characters, and I can’t even begin to pick which was my favorite.

If you like New Adult Romance, particularly with a bent towards the paranormal and time travel, I would highly recommend that you pick up this book. I can’t wait to read more into the series. Now excuse me while I go look up everything the author’s ever written.

