Book Review: Masquerade With A Marquess

review-cover-masqueradewithamarquessTitle: Masquerade With A Marquess

Author: Cerise Deland

Genre: Historical, Romance

Rating: 1 Star

AmazonButtonGoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

Sophia di Contini risks her life to sail to England alone and slip into the homes of those she suspects stole priceless treasures from her family during the wars. Discovered by Victor Cameron, she agrees to search for her art his way even though she’ll live in his house, yearn for his touch, pine for his kisses….

Five years ago, Victor had to give up Sophia. Now he vows to keep her near him and to protect her from men who would destroy her. He’ll help her find her precious art even if he risks the chance she’ll steal his heart away…again.

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

I tried so hard to like this book. I am generally a sucker for historical romances, particularly from the Regency era, but regardless of how may times I picked up and set down this book, I just couldn’t get into it.

Technically speaking, the book was well written. I didn’t run into obvious typos, illogical behavior, or grammatical mistakes. The pacing, however, was extremely slow, even tedious at times. It seemed as if the book focused less on the romance aspect of the plot, and instead spent more time on the historical aspect of the time period. The narrative slogged through the complexities of the dialogue and character thought processes—often focusing entirely on the intrigue of the art theft and little else. At 50% into the story, almost nothing of significance outside of small talk between the characters seemed to happen and there came a point when I picked up my Kindle, read a paragraph, and said, “That’s it. I can’t continue reading this. I’m bored.”

And I was. So incredibly bored.

This isn’t the type of book I’d normally DNF. As I’ve said, historical romance is one of my favorite genres to read; I usually know that no matter the content of the book, I’m going to fall in love with it.

I didn’t love this.

I’m sure there will be people out there who eat this story up with a spoon. It is a story of passion, intrigue, and drama… but it just wasn’t for me. I expected a little more romance, a little less intrigue than what I got.

