Book Review: Boyfriend From Hell

ww-9Title: Boyfriend From Hell [Falling Angels 1]

Author: E. Van Lowe

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Urban

Rating: 4 Stars

amazonbutton1goodreadsbutton1

Description/Synopsis:

Fifteen year-old Megan Barnett and her single mom, Suze, have a special relationship—they are friends, close friends, who do almost everything together.

“But come on, guys, she’s my mother… Can I really tell her that while we’re snuggled up on the sofa watching Spider Man Three, I’m secretly undressing James Franco with my eyes? Of course not…”

The special bond takes a turn for the worse when Suze decides to start dating again. She hasn’t had a man in her life since Megan’s father left ten years ago.

Enter two mysterious young men, Megan’s new classmate, sinfully attractive bad boy, Guy Matson, and the dangerously handsome art dealer, Armando. Before long Megan and Suze both wind up in steamy relationships.

But neither of the handsome pair is quite what he seems. In fact, one of them is Satan, with his sights set on a new bride. Megan has precious little time to figure out how to stop him. If she doesn’t, either Megan or Suze are quite literally going to HELL.

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

Boyfriend From Hell by E. Van Lowe wasn’t at all what I thought it would be. I thought it would be about a teen girl who started dating Satan. The title and cover insinuated as much. I was so very wrong.

Instead, Boyfriend From Hell was about a 15-year-old girl who’s mother begins to date Satan and the ensuing drama as she tries and fails to convince her friends that she needs help to defeat him—and no, she hasn’t gone crazy! There’s so much more to this story that I’d like to share, but I’ll refrain from giving spoilers for now.

Technically speaking, the book is fairly well written. There were a lot of typos in my copy, but these mostly consisted of words being jammed together where spaces had been misplaced. None of the typos were too jarring or distracted me from the overall story.

My biggest complaint instead comes from the main character herself. Frankly, it was hard to like her. She was bratty and selfish, prone to jealousy, and lies. It was often hard for me to relate to her because of her childish actions. She didn’t have many redeeming qualities (until near the end of the book) so it was hard to understand why no less than three characters seemed to be obsessed with her romantically.

Still, it wasn’t all bad. I love a lot of the characters (like Maudelin!) and the plot, though not what I was expecting, was fun and entertaining. There were times when the characters did/said things that were a bit melodramatic and cliché, but I’m willing to give the book the benefit of the doubt because it was so obviously a YA book meant for very young teens and I am not the intended audience at the wise old age of 32.

Overall, despite it’s flaws, I enjoyed the book and I think it fit its intended audience well. If you are looking for a fun, adventure-esque YA novel where teens fight the powers of evil and save their mom’s from the worst dates imaginable, I encourage you to give this a try. It isn’t going to be for everyone, but it was a fun read.

