Book Review: Dreamscape–Saving Alex

review-cover-dreamscape saving alexTitle: Dreamscape: Saving Alex

Author: Kirstin Pulioff

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Adventure

Rating: 5 Stars

AmazonButtonGoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Alexis Stone is used to getting away from life’s frustration with Dreamscape, a video game she’s loved since childhood. As her family prepares to move, a sleepy night of gaming pulls her into the world like never before. Trapped in Dreamscape’s realm, Alex is about to learn that being a hero has consequences… and this time, the stakes are deadly. Will helping the rebellion cost her everything she knows and loves? Or will she betray them to save her own life?

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

What a hidden gem. I picked this book up on a whim because it was free on Amazon. The cover was pretty, it was a genre I liked… I thought “Why not?”I didn’t expect to fall in love with this book as thoroughly as I did.

I was engaged from the very first page—though I’ll admit that at first, Alex wasn’t high on my list of favorite characters. She whined and pouted and was so full of teenage drama and angst that I’m surprised she didn’t lay on the floor and throw a tantrum. That’s probably the parent in me speaking. That being said.. I hated her mother even more, so I was willing to side with the teen. Throughout the book there was a wide array of characters with different personalities, some that I liked, some that I didn’t, and some that fooled me and forced me to change my opinion of them. Alex was definitely one of those. She grew throughout the story at a natural pace, and before I knew it, she was a pretty spectacular person. I adored her. The only person I liked more, was Arrow.

Technically speaking, the story was exceptionally well written. I didn’t run into any obvious typos or errors, no grammatical fumbles or awkward sentences. The pace moved steadily along at a nice pace, and I lost track of time. For six hours, I got sucked into Alex’s world, and I didn’t come up for air until the end of the story. The book was filled with grand adventures and quests, colorful characters, daring battles, deadly traps, and a heartbreaking romance. I couldn’t have asked for more.

My only complaint was the ending… because I really, REALLY wanted just one more chapter… or, you know, a continuation of the book. Why is this not a series?

Overall, I loved the book. If you like YA Fantasy and you’re looking for a fun book filled with crazy adventure, hijinks, and a bit of a romantic subplot, I would urge you to pick up this book and give it a try. It’s going on my keeper shelf… and then I’m going to hand it to my daughter. There’s some mild gore/violence/romance involved, but nothing I wouldn’t feel uncomfortable handing to my 12 year old.

One thought on “Book Review: Dreamscape–Saving Alex

  1. Pingback: Weekend Wrap-Up #18 | Author Unpublished

Comments are closed.