Weekend Wrap-Up #17

What I Read

review-cover-dreamscape saving alexreview-cover-life and deathreview-cover-love beyond timecover-review-love beyond reason

Woot! Despite all my doubts, I did it. I somehow managed to read ahead enough to cover all of October with scheduled posts so that I won’t fall behind when I head out to Disneyland for a week. I can’t tell you how good it feels to not have to worry about missing posts in my absence.

This week I read four books, the first of which was Dreamscape: Saving Alex by Kirstin Pulioff. This was one of those books that I picked up on a whim at Amazon because it was free and it had a gorgeous cover—and because I was looking for books I knew I could read quickly to get my posts scheduled ahead of time, I decided to pick it up and give it a try. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the book was actually quite good. Dreamscape is a YA Fantasy Adventure with a tad bit of Romance thrown in about a girl who gets sucked into her favorite 8-bit video game from when she was a child, and then has to survive it in order to return to her own world. It was fun and imaginative, and I loved every minute of it.

The second book I picked up this week was a surprise pick: Life and Death by Stephenie Meyer. This was a book that I heard about last minute as part of the 10th anniversary release of Twilight, and though I’m not a huge fan of the series (it was Meh.) I figured I’d give it a shot. In a lot of ways, I liked it better than the original book. There were a lot of strong female characters, and it was interesting to see some changes that were made. The editing was much better than the original. But, it still wasn’t a ‘great’ book. A lot of people hated it, but I think a lot of the reviews it’s gotten on Goodreads and Amazon are based solely on the disappointment of Twilight fans who were waiting for a hopeful release of Midnight Sun, and were disappointed to get a simple gender-swap re-write of Twilight. Personally, I think it was a novelty read, released as a ploy to somehow keep Twilight relevant. She should have written a new book.

The third and fourth books I read this week are part of the Morna’s Legacy Series: Love Beyond Time, and Love Beyond Reason by Bethany Claire. This is a 7-book series, of which I own the first three. They are Time Travel Romances about a series of women who are sent back through time to medieval Scotland to save a famous Scottish clan from being massacred 400 years earlier. These are true Romance genre books, and perhaps a little too romance for most avid Fantasy readers to enjoy, but for Romance readers, they’re pretty good books. I’ve enjoyed them so far, though I’ll admit, they have their problems. Things are often wrapped up and solved a little too easily for my liking. I reserve judgment on the series as a whole until I’m a few books further in.

Upcoming Reviews & Things:

  • Monday, October 12 – Rising Inferno
  • Wednesday, October 14 – 10 Step Plan To Promote Your Book
  • Monday, October 19 – Dreamscape: Saving Alex
  • Wednesday, October 21 – Life and Death
  • Monday, October 26 – Love Beyond Time
  • Wednesday, October 28 – Love Beyond Reason

What Was Posted

What I Did

alightfullsharperThis is what you get when I put in a placeholder image of something I painted  3 years ago because I’m to exhausted to whip out my camera and find something worth taking a picture of for my blog. It’s been a long week guys.

I spent most of my week reading and trying to get things written up and scheduled ahead for my upcoming vacation. We’re a week away from our Disneyland Trip, and things are starting to get serious in the Morton household. It still feels like there’s so much to do before I leave for a week, but unfortunately, a lot of it has to be done last minute, and I don’t do well with stress and anticipation.

So, I also spent a lot of my week catching up on dishes, laundry, (reading of course), and making lists of what we need to buy/bring on our upcoming trip. Unfortunately, all of the preparation has been left to me, because my husband works out of the city 4-5 days every week. He’s across the state from Monday-Thursday, meaning I’m the one that’s gotta get everything cleaned, organized, and packed, all while maintaining the usual household chores, work on my blog, and my soon-to-be-12-year-old’s homeschooling.

Did I mention that my daughter’s B-Day is  2 days after we get back from Disneyland? My husband’s going to miss the entire day this year due to work (he leaves the previous Monday for the other side of the state yet again) so it’s going to be a pretty quite event this year. Somehow I need to get B-day shopping done before our trip, and in the one day I have between our return and my husband’s departure, I need to get al my shopping done for the following week, Mara’s B-Day, and Halloween. We don’t even have costumes yet.

I’m a wreck. I do not due well with time crunches.

Next Week

My next week consists mostly of cleaning. I need to get my house presentable for when we leave so I don’t come back to dirty dishes in my sink or even more laundry to wash. We have a cat sitter coming to take care of our three Fuzz-Babies while we’re gone (I can’t even tell you how nervous I am to leave them for a week—Imhotep is getting pretty senior and usually eats nothing but soft canned food, but will have to be put on kitty kibble for the week because he won’t eat with a stranger nearby, and if someone doesn’t sit with him while he eats, the other cats bully him into giving them his food). I still need to B-Day shop, shop for trip supplies, and Halloween costumes/candy. Meanwhile I get to stress over the fact that both my PC (which I hope gets fixed while we’re gone) as well as my brand spanking new Kindle Fire Tablet may arrive while we’re out of town…and I swear to god if either get stolen off my porch there will be a massacre the likes of which has never been seen. I hate stress. I don’t do well with stress.

All I want to do is go eat a Dole Whip and have breakfast at the River Bell Terrance in Disneyland. Seriously.

Things that will not happen next week: Probably Free Fiction Friday and Weekend Wrap-Up. Maybe. I have a feel I’m going to be very busy those last few days before the trip. I’ll be missing them the following week as well (as I’ll actually be gone), but review posts should continue as scheduled. I’ll be back Monday, October 26 (my daughter’s birthday is the 27th!) So unless I’m totally stressed out or busy washing a week’s worth of clothes, posts should be back to normal then. I hope.

