Book Review: Yellowstone Fugitive

YellowstoneFugitive3_reducedTitle: Yellowstone Fugitive

Author: Saige Silver

Genre: Paranormal, Romance

Rating: 3 Stars

GoodreadsButton

Amazon Release Date: September 24

Description/Synopsis:

Outlaw Tess Robinson will do anything to avoid prison, even if that means braving the harsh terrain of the Yellowstone wilderness alone. Grizzly shifters Dean Stamper and Jace Dixon are hot on the trail of the curvy young fugitive, but they’re soon grappling with a huge problem: Tess is their fated mate!
Now the shifters have a difficult decision to make: Should they arrest the woman they love and condemn her to years in prison, or break the law themselves by harboring a fugitive?

Soon they realize they have a much bigger problem on their hands. A sociopathic drug kingpin is on a mission to find Tess and her bears. He’ll stop at nothing to quench his thirst for blood and vengeance. Will Dean and Jace be able to protect the mate they’ve waited a lifetime for?

 WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

This is one of those books that hit me at an odd time. I don’t general seek out Ménage or BBW Romance fiction. I don’t necessarily have a problem with the genres, they just don’t specifically interest me, so when I was contacted by the author for an honest review, I’m not sure what made me pick up the book and say “Sure, I’ll give you an honest review!”

Oddly enough, I kind of liked the book.

Technically speaking, the book was pretty well written. There were less than a handful of errors throughout the book – which is pretty spectacular for an Indie read. The writing flowed well, kept a decent pace, and I never felt lost or confused throughout the narrative. And despite the problems I did have with the book, I still continued to read the book, and for the most part, enjoyed it.

My biggest problem with the book came with the categorization. This didn’t feel like a true Romance novel. It’s not that there wasn’t romance in it (because there was), but the romance really took a back seat to more prominent Erotica tone that was all through the book. The book was filled with extremely steamy sex scenes on a pretty regular basis, and the language used to portray those scenes was… blunt, I guess is the word I’m looking for. It was obvious to me that the way in which the scenes were written was in itself a form of ‘dirty talk’ meant to bring up very specific feelings in the reader. The erotic tone was very deliberate. For an Erotica, this would be fantastic. For a Romance? I was expecting something a little more Romance-driven, and a little less in my face as far as the sex went.

That aside, I liked the plot, the voice of the narrator, I even liked the characters (for the most part). My only other complaint is that the dialogue at times could be incredibly cheesy. I think the book was meant to be a little more light-hearted and fun than I took it, but that kind of silliness just isn’t to my personal taste.

Overall, I’d give the book 3 stars. The book didn’t fit my tastes well, and I think it was categorized wrong, but it wasn’t awful. I didn’t hate it. I don’t think it’s a bad book…. it’s just not my favorite. I give it a “meh” rating overall. I’m glad I picked it up and gave it a try. I liked a lot of it, just not all of it.  If you’re looking for a fun, quick erotic read involving grizzly bear shifters and a BBW heroine, I’d suggest you pick it up and give it a try. If you’re looking for something a little more romance driven, you may want to give this one a pass.

One thought on “Book Review: Yellowstone Fugitive

  1. Pingback: Weekend Wrap-Up #15 | Author Unpublished

Comments are closed.