I Got a Lesson in Gender Equality at a Romance Writers’ Conference | VICE | United Kingdom

I’d promised my editor a funny piece about the people who write and read romantic fiction, but what I found wasn’t a joke.

Source: I Got a Lesson in Gender Equality at a Romance Writers’ Conference | VICE | United Kingdom

As I head home, backpack full of books “I just have to read,” there’s one thing I’m still wondering about. Why do romance writers even care what mainstream literature thinks of them?

They make more money and have more passionate fans than most fiction authors. And while mainstream publishers are struggling with dwindling readership and revenue, romance is generating well over a billion dollars a year. The mainstream, it seems, should instead be taking a page out of their book.

One thought on “I Got a Lesson in Gender Equality at a Romance Writers’ Conference | VICE | United Kingdom

  1. Pingback: Weekend Wrap-Up #14 | Author Unpublished

Comments are closed.