Weekend Wrap-Up #11

What I Read

ww-4ww-6ww-5ww-3

It’s been a really long week reading wise. I’m currently in the process of catching back up on my reading from the weeks I missed due to computer problems. I’m also working to whittle down my current TBR list, most of which has been sitting around for well over a year. The problem with this, of course, is that a lot of what’s still on my TBR list are books that I started to read… and didn’t want to finish. Unable to get past the first 10% of most of the books, I set them aside to try again later. Now is later. The problem with this of course, is that there’s probably going to be a lot of 1-star reviews coming up because I am scraping around what’s left of the barrel. I’m trying to keep my mind open and unbiased… but there’s only so many technical errors I can ignore sometimes.

The first book I picked up this week was Chimera by N.J. Tanger—which I started reading at the end of last week. I adored this book. It was complicated but interesting, and I loved all of the characters. You can look forward to the full review Wednesday.

The second book I picked up this week was Back Roads Kingdom by Christian O’Neill. Once again, this was a fantastic book. It was a little hard to follow at first, but the best comparison I can give it is Alice in Wonderland meets the Appalachians. Again, I loved the book, and that review is coming up next week.

The third book I picked up this week was Ukiyo by Mario Saincic. To be honest, I was a bit disappointed by this one. It started off really strong, but slowly fizzled out by 20% in. Too many times I questioned the decisions of the characters, the logic of the world building, and the technical skill of the editor. Sadly, this one ended up being a DNF.

I just started reading Aisuru by Anma Natsu just this morning—and already I have high hopes. It’s easy to tell that the author spent a lot of time with their research and making the culture of the book accurate, and it’s made for some interesting reading. I’m only 6% in, but I’m looking forward to finishing this one up in the next day or two.

Review Dates Coming Up:

  • Monday, August 31 – Trapped On Draconica
  • Wednesday, September 2 – Chimera
  • Monday, September 7 – Back Roads Kingdom
  • Wednesday, September 9 – Ukiyo
  • Monday, September 14 – Aisuru

What Was Posted

What I Did

It was a long week, though not a lot happened. I spent most of my time trying to catch up on reading, and suffering from a weird sleep schedule. Summer is not my thing. I’m not built for the 100+ F temperatures of El Paso, TX. What this all boils down to is not being able to sleep at all once the sun goes down. With the AC on, it’s freezing once night falls, but without it? Humid and hot as hell. Either way, it’s uncomfortable and I end up being wide awake all night… which then makes me want to fall asleep standing up come 11 AM. I basically live on a graveyard shift right now, which is the complete opposite of everyone else in my household. I can’t wait for fall.

Tuesday, thankfully, was my birthday! I don’t particularly like birthdays—being a twin, they’re usually shared, and I hate surprises… so by the end of the day, I’m usually disappointed and stressed out. This year wasn’t so bad, though I did manage to burn my cake. I got a book I’d really been looking forward to, and a Steam gift card… so now I can play games while I’m up all night. *thumbs up*

On the less fun side of things, I managed to get food poisoning… again. From pizza this time, which was weird. I’m already over it, but it wasn’t a fun couple of days. Then, to top off the week, my toilet decided to leak and flood my bathroom this morning. It’s fixed (thank god), but it was certainly a long day.

Here’s to hoping that next week is a little less stressful! We’ll be starting up homeschooling for the year come Tuesday (because I’m nice and letting my daughter start 6th grade September 1st instead of August 24th like the local public school…) Starting school before my birthday is just ridiculous. *nod* It’s like… a holiday.

Image: Imhotep, Aka my fuzzy baby. He’s a Sokoke that’s about to turn 13.

Next Week

I have no plans for the upcoming week. Read maybe? Play some games? Force my 11 year old to learn 6th grade math? Sounds like a plan. My husband is out of town for work for the week, but I’m still kind of hoping that he’ll bring me back my late birthday present (an Amazon gift card) that I’ve been informed he owes me. I WANT BOOKS. That’s all for now—I hope everyone had a great week!

2 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up #11

Comments are closed.