Book Review: Accordance

cover-review-accordanceTitle: Accordance [Significance 2]

Author: Shelly Crane

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal

Rating: 5 Stars

AmazonButtonGoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

In the sequel, Maggie learns much more about all the strange things that happened to her, and has to face new ones. She rebels against it, but ultimately, must face it for her new families sake and maybe even her life. Bish went from being her biggest supporter to her biggest pain in the butt and Kyle’s intentions to attract her interest may not be so innocent. Caleb and Maggie face many new obstacles together and fight to work through them but will one that should be a good thing be too much for Maggie to handle?

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

After quickly reading through the first book in the Significance series, I went ahead and picked up the second, Accordance, right away. I was a little worried going into this story that I wouldn’t like it as much as the first book; it’s pretty common for series to go through the second book slump, but I wasn’t disappointed.

Like Significance, Accordance was well written. There were quite a few typos in my copy of the book, which was unfortunate, but other than one or two stumbles where a letter or word was left out, most of the errors were tiny and didn’t jar me out of the reading. The narrative was decently paced, easy to follow and engaging. I was sucked into the story right away and sped through to the end of the book in just a few hours.

Luckily, where the first book failed in the series, Accordance excelled. The story was rife with tension, both between the rather large cast of characters, the different families of the Aces, and more importantly, between Caleb and Maggie. Things certainly weren’t easy for the couple, and Marcus, Bish, and Kyle once again didn’t make things any easier.

I was glad to see the changes to Maggie and Caleb as they started to come into their powers, and even more so to see some of the other characters start to find their Imprints. My only problem was with the exceedingly slow pace at which Maggie figured things out. I’d guessed at the outcomes of some of the relationships and uses of their powers long before Maggie caught on, and it felt a little like I was waiting for her to catch up throughout the book.

Still, overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the story. Now that the Instant-Love aspect of Maggie and Caleb’s story was a book behind me, I was able to sink into their relationship a little easier, and of course it was nice to see that they were beginning to run into obstacles with their relationship. If you liked the first book in the series, or you’re a fan of heavily romance-influenced paranormal YA stories, you’ll probably love this book. It isn’t going to be for everyone, but personally, I can’t wait to continue on with the series!

