Book Review: Significance

cover-review-significanceTitle: Significance [Significance 1]

Author: Shelly Crane

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Contemporary, Romance, Paranormal

Rating: 4 Star (4.5)

AmazonButtonGoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

Maggie is a seventeen year old girl who’s had a bad year. Her mom left, her dad is depressed, she’s graduating, barely, and her boyfriend of almost three years dumped her for a college football scholarship. Lately she thinks life is all about hanging on by a thread and is gripping tight with everything she has.

Then she meets Caleb.

She saves his life and instantly knows there’s something about him that’s intriguing but she is supposed to be on her way to a date with his cousin. But things change when they touch, sparks ignite. Literally. They imprint with each other and she sees their future life together flash before her eyes. She learns that not only is she his soul mate, and can feel his heartbeat in her chest, but there is a whole other world of people with gifts and abilities that she never knew existed. She herself is experiencing supernatural changes unlike anything she’s ever felt before and she needs the touch of his skin to survive. Now, not only has her dad come out of his depression to be a father again, and a pain as well, but Caleb’s enemies know he’s imprinted and are after Maggie to stop them both from gaining their abilities and take her from him. Can Caleb save her or will they be forced to live without each other after just finding one another?

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

I wanted so badly to give this book five stars. In fact, I very nearly did. I picked up Significance by Shelly Crane on a whim…. several months ago—but I never read it. I thought it looked cute, and it was free on Amazon, and I thought, “Why not?” I set it aside, and never went back to it—because let’s face it, my TBR pile is huge. Then, I came across a BookTube review of the series, heard that it was good, and thought, “You know what? I’ll give it a try.” I wasn’t disappointed.

The writing was nearly flawless. though I’m sure there was a typo somewhere (there always is), I can’t remember any. The text moved along at a nice pace. It was well structured, grammatically correct and punctuated (okay, I just remembered a typo) decently. I got sucked into the story from the very first page, and I hardly wanted to put the book down. In fact, I forgot to do anything but read until well into the wee hours of the morning (okay, so it was almost breakfast by the time I set it down). I absolutely loved it.

The characters were heartwarmingly endearing, fun, and funny. I adored Caleb and Maggie as a couple; they were undeniably perfect for each other. In equal parts, I was irritated with Kyle, Bish, and Marcus most of all. There was some definite tension between the couple and the other characters of the book, and at times it was frustrating to watch the story unfold for Maggie. The girl didn’t seem to catch a break.

Here’s where things got tricky (and why this lost a star for me). The love between Caleb and Maggie was the very definition of Instant-Love. Literally, they were madly in love after the very first five minutes of meeting each other. It’s not a huge problem for me, but I know that for a lot of readers, this is going to make them cringe. On one hand, the instant love was well explained.. that’s just how these soul mates/aces work. I understand that… but I’ll admit, it was really cheesy. I think I would have swallowed it a little better, except there was very little tension between the couple. I understand—again, they’re soul mates… there are paranormal forces at work that make them never want to be a part. I seriously get it—but I think I needed there to be tension between them anyway. Maggie was thrown into an impossible situation. She was just learning about these paranormal beings, finding out she was going to become one of them, basically betrayed by her own body to crave this guy she’s never met.. and she’s hopelessly naïve about real relationships. It felt like there should have been more doubt, more fight… and there wasn’t. As adorable as they were, their relationship was a little too easy.

I also had a problem with the end. It felt like the end came out of nowhere. One second a new chapter and location had been revealed, and then BAM, the story ends mid-action. I hadn’t expected that. I wish the chapter had gone on for a little longer, and I wish some of the things that had been interrupted in that chapter had been finished before moving on to the next book. It wasn’t a big drawback for me, but it did bother me.

Overall, the book was great. I loved the characters, the romance, the plot, the world building… but I recognize that this isn’t going to be for everyone. If you’re not a huge fan of romance, you’ll probably be annoyed at this book. The romance is everything to this book, and it gets pretty cheesy and squee-worthy. If you’re more into the paranormal aspect of the story, the romance is probably going to bother you. If, however, you are like me, and a true romance reader at heart.. you’ll probably appreciate this book a lot more. The book isn’t perfect, and it isn’t going to be to everyone’s tastes, but if you like YA Romance with some paranormal thrown in, give this a chance. It’s a solid read. I will definitely be heading on into the rest of the series.

