Book Review: Forget Me Not

Review-Cover-Forget Me Not

Title: Forget Me Not [Ceruleans 2]

Author: Megan Tayte

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Contemporary, Romance

Rating: 5 Stars

AmazonButton

GoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

Death is stalking Scarlett Blake. As if the encroaching darkness in her head wasn’t enough, she’s become disturbingly accident prone. Falling off a cliff isn’t ideal when all you want is as much time as possible to live, to love.

Her fate is horrifying. Unbearable. And inescapable. No one can save Scarlett from The End that’s looming. Not Jude, the Cerulean who is intent on Claiming her. Not Luke, the boy who is intent on loving her.

The clock is ticking, louder with every heartbeat. Now Scarlett must decide how best to protect the people she loves. Will she trust in Jude and the life-after-death he promises? Will she stand against the Fallen, who have her sister captive? Will she carry the burden of her death alone – every headache, every hallucination, every wrenching, aching emotion?

And when the clock falls silent, when the darkness eclipses the light, will Scarlett fight for life? Or will she have no choice but to surrender?

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

Forget Me Not by Megan Tayte is everything I’ve wanted in an indie published book for a long, long time. The writing was excellent; none of that ‘bordering on poetic’ stuff that makes me cringe, no awkwardly worded sentence structures or punctuation mistakes… just solid, easy-to-sink-into writing. The characters felt genuine and logical, not angsty and overly-dramatic like most YA books. Not once did I find myself scowling at a character or rolling my eyes. For a few short hours, I sunk into the world of Scarlett Blake and the journey was breathtaking.

I’ll admit, I was a little afraid going into this book. Immediately after reading the first book in the series, I was contacted by the author with a note of thanks for my review. I was excited to hear back from her and to tell her how much I enjoyed the book—and was then off-my-rocker happy to be offered a chance to read the second book in the series in exchange for another honest review. Well, considering how much I loved the first book, I jumped at the chance. Going into Forget Me Not, I was worried that it wouldn’t hold up to the first book—that happens sometimes with sequels—but I was excited to get even a few more hours in the world of Scarlett, so I dived in.

I wasn’t disappointed. In fact, if anything, I think I enjoyed the second book more. This addition to the Cerulean series was heartbreakingly beautiful. Where the first book focused mainly on the romance between Scarlett and Luke, as well as the mystery surrounding Siena’s death, this book focused mainly on the aftermath of Scarlett’s revelation that she was going to die… and there was nothing she could do about it. I promise I won’t give away too many spoilers, but the story centered on the remaining months of her life… knowing that her time was short and what she chose to do with the time she had left. Even though the plot centered around the supernatural aspect of the Cerulean series, it was hard not to think of Scarlett as an average girl dying from any number of very real causes. The story felt like a peek into the last days of a girl coming to grips with her mortality… and whether her death was permanent or not, it was a very real, very human experience. This book is going to stick with me for a long time.

A lot of mystery still surrounds the Ceruleans. Despite the very heavy main theme, I didn’t feel like the supernatural aspect of the plot was neglected, thankfully, but I don’t know that I’m much closer to figuring out what exactly the Ceruleans are and why Scarlett and her sister have been chosen to become Ceruleans. I still feel like there’s a lot going on that Jude hasn’t given us information about, and with the appearance of Daniel, I feel like I’ve been left with more questions.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book regardless. In fact, before I started writing this review I had to make myself sit down and chill for about 10 minutes because the very first thing I wanted to type was random exclamations of nonsense followed by “OMGOSH why did it have to end!?” I want more. I love this series so much, and I will forever be grateful to Megan Tayte for providing me with the opportunity to review the first two books of the series. If you’re looking for a good, engaging paranormal romance story… grab these books. You won’t regret it. It’s going on my keeper shelf.

