Book Review: Loveknot

review-cover-loveknot

Title: Loveknot

Author: Marisa Carroll

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Mystery

Rating: 2 Stars

AmazonButton

GoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

The Pieces are Coming Together

Judson’s trial is over, but the question remains: Who killed Margaret Ingalls? The answer lies buried deep in her daughter Alyssa’s memory…. Join the residents of Tyler as they piece together forty-year-old secret of America’s favorite hometown.

Haunted by Dreams…

Alyssa Baron’s sleep is filled with jumbled images of the night her mother died. But during the day, she’s busy sparring with Edward Wocheck, who’s intent on buying out the family business.

And a Man Who Never Forgot Her

Edward has loved Alyssa since they were children. He’s determined to put an end to her tortured dreams. And then – business differences or no – he intends to win her heart.

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

I tried so hard to like this book. I put it down, I picked it back up, ad infinum. By the time I got halfway through the book, I was bored out of my mind. You know a book just isn’t speaking to you when you get two chapters from the end and almost can’t force yourself to read the last two chapters… the part of the book that’s supposed to be the “happy ending”.

Don’t get me wrong, the writing itself wasn’t bad. The narrative was clean, easy to read, and wasn’t bogged down with an over-abundance of drama or stupid character mistakes… but the storyline just wasn’t for me. The main characters were much older than I’m used to dealing with as a romantic interest—grandparents. As someone in my early thirties. I had trouble identifying with them. Unfortunately, the mystery of Alyssa’s mother’s death just never drew me in. So much time had passed between her death and the story that I couldn’t help but wonder why it mattered at that point. Life had moved on for the characters—an entire lifetime for the main character—and it seemed inconsequential in the end.

The romance itself seemed lukewarm. Sure… Alyssa and Edward loved each other once upon a time, and those feelings were still in play decades later… but it didn’t feel like there was any real passion behind their romance. I didn’t feel as much draw (read: sexual tension) between the two as I’d come to expect from a romance. It made it hard to invest into their relationship, and frankly, the business aspect of their relationship just didn’t interest me.

In all honesty, the entire book felt lukewarm. I don’t know if it’s because my inability to identify with the older characters, the absurd amount of time between the mother’s death and the current setting, or the lack of sexual tension, but I just couldn’t bring myself to care about the story. I was bored. By the time I reached the end of the book I couldn’t bring myself to care what happened to the characters. I’m not saying that the book was badly written… but I wasn’t the appropriate audience for it. The book just wasn’t for me. Overall? Decent book, probably, but I didn’t like it. I think other readers could enjoy this book, particularly of an older age than I am, but this one won’t be going on my keeper shelf.

