Book Review: Finding Home

review-cover-finding home

Title: Finding Home [Montana Born Homecoming 2]

Author: Roxanne Snopek

Genre: Romance, Novella, Contemporary

Rating: 5 Stars

AmazonButton

GoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

Fourteen years after her abrupt departure, Samara Davis is back in Marietta, Montana. Now a widow, all she wants is to give her anxious four-year old daughter, Jade, a happy, stable home. Unfortunately, the heritage house she purchased is nowhere near ready for occupancy. And the man responsible for the delay is none other than high-school golden boy and love of her life Logan Stafford, available, interested and just as swoon-worthy as ever.

But this single mother has one priority. She’s all Jade has, and she’ll do anything, make any sacrifice, for her child’s future. And getting distracted by a long-lost boyfriend is not on the agenda.

Logan Stafford never forgot the lonely girl from the wrong side of the tracks who broke his heart. Not only is she as irresistible as ever, but her delightfully odd little girl has him wrapped around her finger in no time. Believing they’ve been given a second chance, Logan’s determined to pull out all the stops on the house to prove to them both that he’s a guy they can count on. But, despite how easy it is to love Logan, a second chance is still a gamble Samara can’t afford to take.

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

I have to say, Finding Home by Roxanne Snopek was a pleasant surprise. The narrative was paced well, grammatically correct, and effortless in its execution. I was drawn in right away by the hilarity of Samara’s first few moments back in her hometown of Marietta, Montana, and it wasn’t long before I was completely sucked into the story.

Let me preface this review by admitting… I don’t like novellas. In my experience as a reviewer I’ve found that 9 times out of 10, novellas are rushed. There isn’t time for deep characterization or slow romance progression, and that often leads to huge time jumps and tourniquet’d narrative. That wasn’t the case with this novella. Even though it was shorter than your average romance story, I didn’t feel like I was reading a short story. The characterization of the characters was so well done that I felt like I lived within the small town of Marietta right along side them. Each character had a unique voice and personality, and I genuinely wanted to know more about them—especially Eliza and Mable, who I believe have a lot more to tell about their stories.

The dialogue was natural and well-written, and the narrative was equally so. The story moved along at a decent pace without feeling rushed or disjointed, and by the end of the book, I felt as if I’d read a full length novel, despite it’s small page count. The main couple, Samara and Logan had an obvious and unapologetic chemistry that was easy to believe, and more than once, completely giggle-worthy. I was routing for them every step of the way, and I fell in love with Samara’s quirky daughter, Jade.  The tension and stress on Samara’s shoulders felt real, and when it all got too much for her, I too felt my heart clench in response.

For a short romance, this book was fantastic. It was heartwarming, endearing, and I’m so glad I got a chance to read it. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quick contemporary romance read.

