Book Review: Switch

review-cover-switch

Title: Switch [New World 1]

Author: Janelle Stalder

Genre: New Adult, Dystopian, Science Fiction, Romance, Post-Apocalyptic

Rating: 4 Stars

AmazonButton

GoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

Two thirds of the world’s population has been wiped out, devastated by the worst war earth has ever seen. Still standing amongst the ruins is a mind reader who finds herself on the wrong side of the war. Everyone does what they must to survive. When the rebels bent on bringing down the New World leader start to rise up, it is her job to make sure they stay down where they belong. That is, until one rebel sneaks past her defenses and into her heart. Love will blossom from the ashes, but will it be enough to save them, or will it mean the end of them both?

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

I very nearly gave this book 5 stars. Almost. I’ll admit, at first, I wasn’t so engrossed in Switch. The narrative was choppy, typo’s popped up, the story sometimes contradicted itself, and Charlotte/Dinah was not a character I easily fell in love with. She was cold and calculating—brutally so—and honestly, it made it hard to like her…. at first.

However, the deeper I sunk into the story, the more I began to really enjoy Charlotte/Dinah and her crazy dystopian world. Life was hard for the mind-reader, but she took a practical stance and did what she had to in order to survive. Sometimes that meant doing horrible things, and most of the time she didn’t blink an eye, but I could see how she was able to rationalize and separate what she had to do in order to stay alive. If I didn’t love her, I could at least respect her.

There was so much going on in this book between the different viewpoints, the political plots, and the thrilling action, that it is hard to sit back now and try to encompass everything I’d love to talk about with this book. There was so much depth to the world building and characters, that after the first initial chapters, I was completely sucked into the narrative, and forgot to come up for air. It was only when the last page rolled by that I sat back, stared at my kindle and went “It ended?” I would have loved to have had another 200 pages to this story. The romance between the different couples was full out giggle-worthy and filled with tension. Ms. Stalder made the true tension and danger of this world evident with every turn of the plot, and despite the rocky beginning, I fell in love with the story.

Would I read it again? Yes. Would I recommend it to others? Definitely. This is not your average YA Dystopian…. Charlotte/Dinah is a complex, and less than perfect protagonist who is not at all air-headed, and despite her lack of apparent heart, I fell in love with her by the end of the book.  If you enjoy dark dystopian novels with a bit of romance and a lot of dangerous political strife, you’ll love this story. Give it a shot.

