Book Review: Crossed

review-cover-crossed

Title: Crossed [Matched 2]

Author: Ally Condie

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopian, Romance

Rating: 4 Stars

AmazonButton

GoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

The Society chooses everything.

The books you read.
The music you listen to.
The person you love.

Yet for Cassia the rules have changed. Ky has been taken and she will sacrifice everything to find him.
And when Cassia discovers Ky has escaped to the wild frontiers beyond the Society there is hope.
But on the edge of society nothing is as it seems…

A rebellion is rising.

And a tangled web of lies and double-crosses could destroy everything.

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

Like the previous book of this series, Matched, I thoroughly enjoyed Crossed by Ally Condie. As far as the technical side of things went, the writing was clean, easy-to-follow, and engaging. There weren’t any distracting problems with grammar, punctuation, spelling, or construction, and the cover is nicely designed.

The big draw of this series for me is the dystopian aspect of the novels. Whereas a lot of times YA Dystopian Romances are geared more towards the romance and a whole lot less towards the Dystopian, this series seems to be the opposite. The world of Cassia and Ky is rich and detailed; you can feel the tension of the characters as they are manipulated and chased after by the Society. There’s adventure, romance, action, and conspiracies around every corner. The characters are very natural and full of depth, and I loved that Crossed followed not only Cassia’s point of view, but that of Ky’s as well. It was interesting to see more of what was going on in his head throughout the story. I will admit it was a little disheartening to see the couple struggle with jealousy, lies, and the inevitable stress of their situation, but by the same token, it was another aspect of the story that I’m glad was told.

Like the previous book, my main concern with the narrative was that the characters lacked emotion. I was told by the author that these characters were happy, sad, scared, etc… but I never really felt it. The text lacked a certain personal warmth that I really wish would have been present. That aside, the rest of the story seemed flawless. I was sucked into the story right away and didn’t feel the need to come up for air until hours later when I turned the last page.

I thoroughly enjoyed this edition to the series, and I’d happily recommend it to anyone who enjoys YA Dystopian. While there is romance, it doesn’t come across as a huge part of the story. The characters aren’t whiney or angsty, and I think even the younger teens out there will find this story not only appropriate, but enthralling. I’m looking forward to diving into the third book shortly.

