Book Review: The Enchanted Forest Chronicles Box Set


Title: The Enchanted Forest Chronicles Box Set

Rating: 5 Stars

Author: Patricia C. Wrede

Genres: Fantasy, Children’s, Juvenile, Young Adult, Adventure


Collected together for the first time are Patricia C. Wrede’s hilarious adventure stories about Cimorene, the princess who refuses to be proper. Every one of Cimorene’s adventures is included in its paperback edition–Dealing with Dragons, Searching for Dragons, Calling on Dragons, and Talking to Dragons–in one handsome package that’s perfect for gift giving.

This box set includes:


This series was FANTASTIC. I first read The Enchanted Forest Chronicles as a  young teen in middle school, and the impression it left me with was so strong, that decades later I asked for a box set of the children’s books for Christmas. My family looked at me a little funny (being that I am now 30 years old), but lo and behold, I obtained the box set come Christmas morning. I spent the next few months reading through the four books (a chapter a day) with a 10 year old member of my family, and wasn’t surprised to find, that I still loved the series every bit as much as I did as a child.

The series follows the lives of a colorful cast of fantasy characters ranging from the princess who doesn’t  want to be a princess, to a baby dragon that wants to grow up too soon, an ill-tempered fire-witch, a boy who doesn’t realize he’s a prince, and a giant blue donkey that flies and used to be a rabbit. The pages are filled with humor, adventure, mystery, romance, magic battles, and familiar fairytale characters that have been adapted to this wonderfully entertaining series. The books are perfect for children of all ages, ranging from about 3rd grade on up—and even adults will love these light-hearted stories. I wouldn’t change a thing about these books… I’m only saddened that there weren’t more books to the series.

If you’re looking for a series of fantasy books to share with a child in your family (or at your school) you would do well to pick this series up. I guarantee you won’t regret it.