Book Review: Resisting The Rancher

 

review-cover-resistingtherancher

Title: Resisting The Rancher [Three River Ranch 4]

Author: Roxanne Snopek

Genre: Contemporary, Romance

Rating: 5 Stars

AmazonButton

GoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

Country veterinarian Celia Gamble is in trouble. A misunderstanding from her past is rearing its ugly head and the only person she can turn to is Jonah Clarke—her family’s lawyer and, as it turns out, her brother’s best friend and her childhood crush. She always wanted Jonah to see her as a bona fide woman, but as a woman who’s being blackmailed for seducing a married man? Not on her life.

Jonah is happy to help Little CeeCee Gamble, if only she’d come clean about why she’s being blackmailed. But with his best friend Zach’s wedding on the horizon, and Zach’s fashionista fiancée Desiree giving CeeCee a makeover, the little duckling Jonah remembers is turning into a definite swan. And the unwritten law on sisters is clear—hands off. Jonah must resist or lose the only true family he’s ever known.

WARNING – SPOILERS MAYE ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

I loved this book. I was excited to find myself on the other end of an invitation to read another one of Ms. Snopek’s books. I’d read her previous title His Reluctant Rancher last year, and I’d enjoyed every moment of it.  The author has a flawless, clean, engaging, and fast-paced narrative voice that I find draws me right into the story. I fell into this story effortlessly and for a few short hours, lived in the world of the characters, not to emerge until the very last word.

Celia and Jonah were an adorable couple, and I thought Celia’s spit-fire stubbornness was the perfect compliment to Jonah’s cowboy-next-door. Their relationship was filled with ups, downs, misunderstandings, and steamy moments that had me outright giggling with glee. I’ll admit it: I laughed out loud a handful of times.

The plot itself was a mash-up of formulaic romance (hey, I enjoy a good formula romance… it’s comforting like hot cocoa on a cold winter’s afternoon) and thriller. There seemed to be just enough danger and mystery to complicate things and spice up the sometimes sweet, sometimes steamy romance between the main couple.

The characters were vibrant, full of personality, and close knit. Despite the amount of characters and how little time some of them got “on screen”, none of them felt needless or truly secondary. Rather than being 1-dimensional cast-offs that appear for a scene, react, and then disappear, the characters spattered across the canvas of the story like vivid droplets of paint, bringing it to life. By the end, I wanted to live in this town with these people.

Overall, I really liked this story. Yes, it is a formulaic romance, but I don’t count that against it. I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was quick, fun, engaging read, and I think if you like contemporary romance, you’ll probably enjoy it. Would I read it again? Definitely. Would I recommend it? Without question. If you’ve never read any of the author’s work, I highly recommend that you take a look. Ms. Snopek is a romance writer worth reading.

