Dystopian Dreams and the Absence of FFF

Good morning ladies and gentlemen of blogland! Just a remind for those of you who may have missed the announcement last week: There will be no Free Fiction Friday today, nor April 18th due to some review date restrictions I had this month. Free Fiction Fridays will resume as normal Friday, 25th of April.

Meanwhile, I thought I’d share the odd dream I had last night.

There are two types of dreams I tend to have: Those where I am the main character in the dream (as I assume most people dream), and then every once in awhile, I’ll have a dream where it’s more of a movie. I’m watching a story unfold between characters I’ve never met, and often there’s a lot of backstory behind what’s happening. Last night, I had one of these dreams.

The dream started far underground. The people in my dream lived in an underground dystopian society. Their home was this huge facility that at one point would have been home to thousands of people. Literally, hundreds of miles of tunnels and cavernous rooms created a maze underground. Unfortunately, for whatever reason, the society that lived in the underground facility was dwindling down to under 50 people. I got the feeling that they’d spent generations underground. They were dirty, disheveled, and their clothes were full of holes and patches. There were no lights, just torches, and the few signs of further technology were deteriorating over time. The one exception was this huge (five stories high) room which had the facility’s only exit. It was an energy-field driven barrier/doorway that the people where never allowed to use. It was the only indication to me that at one point, this society had been technologically advanced.

For whatever reason, the society had some pretty strict rules (or at least I got the impression it did), and one particular woman broke those rules. I remember she had a baby with her at the time, and for whatever reason, the council of the society decided to hunt her down and kill her. (I have this vague feeling the rule had something to do with the baby, but I’m not sure what it was). Anyway, the woman ran off into some of the deeper parts of the facility where people didn’t normally go. Here, rooms were collapsing and the floor sometimes gave way to huge cracks in the earth. This chase ended with the woman falling to her death, and the baby was taken away and raised under horrendous circumstances in a deep basement-like room. The child was practically feral, and most people didn’t know he even existed.

Fast forward 10 years.

It turns out, the woman didn’t die in the fall, and began to lead a rebel group that wanted to rebel against the society’s council. They mainly stuck to the deep tunnels, and most people weren’t even aware they existed. A type of guerilla war ensued when someone found the feral child in the basement and came to realize what the council had been up to (I’m still not sure what that is, but this is the impression I got).

The dream ended with the different factions in the main room (where the exit was) fighting over opening the door. The rebel faction wanted to see what was outside the tunnels, and the council was imploring them not to open the gate. Well of course, the gate was opened. The first person through was the woman who’d led the rebel faction…. and she didn’t return. five minutes later, another rebel went through…. and again didn’t return. Finally, one of the council members went through the gate, and immediately turned back, running for his life.

From beyond the gate, a creature stalked into the main chamber that I can only equate to a fast-moving, small dragon-like creature. It was probably the size of a large dog, but it was a vicious little thing, and it immediately started tearing the people apart.

I woke up. I have no idea where this dream came from, but I have a feeling it didn’t end well for the people in the underground facility. Still, it’s going into my plot journal for future reference. So, what about you guys? Ever have “epic” dreams that tend to be these vast, expansive stories about different cultures or events that have absolutely nothing to do with you? Leave a comment!

16 thoughts on “Dystopian Dreams and the Absence of FFF

  1. Sounds like an awesome dream. Has the potential for a really good story.
    I have had dreams like that too. Sometimes I am the main character in them and in others I’m not and sometimes I’m both. The last one I had I wrote down because it really stuck with me.

    It was based on a planet which had five very different worlds on it but you couldn’t easily get to the others. The one you were in would just keep going or loop back around so that you could never leave it no matter how far you travelled unless you know the old tunnels/caves/secrets on how to travel to the next world. Those were long since forgotten in the dream to mankind but they had built five kind of teleportation devices in each world that lead to another.
    There was an army in the dream and they were fighting some kind of battle going between all the worlds and at some point the teleportation devices get destroyed. I (but not me because I wasn’t always this character in the dream) was part of this army but not because I wanted to fight or was any good at taking orders but because I was looking for my partner Ben which had been taken/gone missing and for some reason very important to the storyline which also had dragons fighting each other in it. In the end I think ‘the good guys’ won the battle but Ben died despite my efforts.

    Don’t you just wish that you could repeat dreams at will? I do, that dream was awesome and I want some of the other details that were left out the first time round!

    Like

  2. Wow, that’s a detailed dream! I’ve never had that kind of dream when I’m watching a scene. I am always the main character in my dreams – I am quite clearly a narcissistic dreamer!

    Like

  3. I never remember my dreams, but I get a few clips for the first hour I’m awake. There was one I kept having as a child, which was watching a parade of monsters. Nothing really amazing on that one since it was a rather mellow dream.

    Like

  4. Yes, definitely I have dreams like that. I once had a series of dreams about people living immediately after dinosaurs were killed off, but now I recall almost nothing about them. Strange thing, the subconscious.

    Like

Comments are closed.