Book Review: Vampires Need Not…Apply?

 

review-cover-vampiresneednotapply

Title: Vampires Need Not…Apply? [Accidentally Yours 4]

Author: Mimi Jean Pamfiloff

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

Rating: 3 Stars

AmazonButton

GoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

Meet Dr. Antonio Acero. Heir to Spain’s wealthiest family, world-renowned physicist, and dedicated bachelor. While on vacation in southern Mexico, Antonio discovers an ancient Mayan tablet. Local legends say it contains magical properties, properties that could put his stalling research on the map.

But is this really his lucky break?

When Antonio attempts to put the tablet to use, he’ll discover that Fate has other plans. Her name is Ixtab, and she’s quite possibly the deadliest deity who ever lived.

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

I wanted to like this book more than I did. Previously I’ve read the other three books before this in the series, so going into it, I had a good idea of the quality of book I was getting into. Technically speaking, this was really well written. There weren’t any noticeable missing words, typos, or grammar problems. The narrative was clean, fast-paced, and packed full of personality.

Now here’s the issue: This book isn’t standalone by any stretch of the imagination. If you haven’t read the previous books, you probably aren’t going to like, or even understand this book. I read the previous books, but the gap was so long between having read the third book and the fourth book, that going into it there was this period of catch-up. Subsequently, it took me awhile to get into the story. I don’t know that I’d have had the same problem had I read the books back-to-back, but I am a firm believer that books in a series should be able to stand up on their own merits. As an author, you don’t have control over when someone will be introduced into your series. Sometimes people pick up books out-of-order, so in my opinion, authors should at least attempt to make their series books standalone.

As for the characters… well… this is where you’ll either love or hate the series. The characters in this series are rather absurd. More than half the characters (specifically the gods) are at least half-crazy. They don’t act like you’d expect ancient beings to act. The up side to this, is they’re quite entertaining, and sometimes hilarious. The down side, of course, being that sometimes they are so ridiculous and absurd that it’s hard to follow along with the conversations. I’ll admit that 1/3 of the time I just didn’t even know what was going on (particularly at the beginning of the book. It can be confusing for someone who isn’t used to the series, and I think that aspect of the characters was much more prominent in this book than in the previous books of the series. Cimil always seemed off her rocker, but the other characters didn’t seem quite as crazy in the first three books. I think in part, that’s why I didn’t enjoy this edition as much. The levels of crazy were a little over the line for me.

All of that aside, I did like the main characters, Antonio and Ixtab. I was a little put off by Ixtab at first. Like the other gods, Ixtab is a bit crazy—not a lot—but enough to make her seem a little odd if you aren’t used to her penchant for making really bad jokes and possessing AA attendees. More importantly, the first few chapters of the book she’s very angsty. I can’t really blame her, she is the Goddess of Suicide, and her job definitely sucks, but the bitterness that pours out of her in those first few chapters is really grating. Luckily, after meeting Antonio, things change. Once the two finally meet and begin to interact, the story definitely beings to pick up. The craziness mellows out a bit, and the more engaging parts of the story seemed rise to the forefront. I really began to enjoy the odd dynamic between the two (even though they were constantly arguing), and by the end I was avidly cheering them on.

Overall, it was an okay read for me. I wish I’d liked it more than I did, but it wasn’t a bad book. Would I read it again? Probably not. I think I prefer the other three books in the series more. Would I recommend it? Eh. If you liked the previous books, you should probably read this one too. Ixtab is a really interesting character—but if you haven’t picked up the other books, you may want to forgo this one and return to the previous ones. It just doesn’t stand on it’s own, and it’s not (in my opinion) the best in the series.  It’s one of those books that you’ll either like, or hate depending on how you feel about the wackiness of the character’s personalities—it’s not a book you’d want to take super seriously.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Vampires Need Not…Apply?

Comments are closed.