Copyediting: How I Do It

A very informative post on how one copyeditor works to help authors clean up their work. Lots of great info and insight here, check it out!

Cypress Editing

As I sat down to write this post, it became clear that I wouldn’t be able to describe everything a copyeditor does in just one blog post. I love copyediting, and I feel very lucky that I get to do this type of work almost every day. What I’ve tried to do in this post is cover the basics and answer some questions that indie authors might have about copyediting. (If you’re interested in reading about how I developmentally edit a manuscript, click here.)

What is copyediting?

Copyediting is the process of fixing grammar, spelling, punctuation, usage, accuracy, and consistency errors in order to help a writer deliver his or her message clearly to readers. The job requires focus, creative and critical thinking, organization, and language skills.

During copyediting, a specific style manual is used to ensure the manuscript conforms to US publishing standards. Copyeditors may be familiar with multiple style…

View original post 1,616 more words

One thought on “Copyediting: How I Do It

Comments are closed.