Book Review: Protecting The Pack

 

review-cover-protectingthepack

Title: Protecting The Pack [The Stonewall Pack Alpha 4]

Author: Tabitha Conall

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Erotica

Rating: 3 Stars

AmazonButton

GoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

In an otherwise modern world where werewolves mate in triads, one threesome faces overwhelming obstacles to everlasting love.

Chris leads a pack of werewolves threatened by a rival group. Alexandra follows love away from home and into trouble. Ben seeks a new home but cannot escape the ghosts of his past. The mating lust pulls Chris, Ben and Alexandra together, flooding them with the desire to mark each other and seal their bond. But their differences combine with outside forces to pull them apart, possibly forever. Their future, their love, and even their lives hang in the balance.

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

I read this book as part of the Fated Mates Box Set, so I am planning to give a review to each individual book in the set, and then the set as a whole at a later date. There are twelve books in the set, and it is currently for sale on Amazon for $0.99 at the time this review was written. This is book 8 of 12.

I have mixed feelings about this book. Technically speaking, the story is well written. There weren’t a lot of grammatical, spelling, or punctuation mistakes. I never felt the need to roll my eyes, but I’ll admit I didn’t like the book as much as I wanted to.

The erotic side of this novel eclipsed the rest of the plot. I never felt any of the suspense surrounding the upheaval of the pack dynamics, nor was I scared for any of the character’s lives. Most of the book was spent with the couple (all three of them) having sex. A lot. The sex scenes punctuated the book like a spray of bullets, cutting into the story and scattering it into bits. I don’t think quite so many were needed, and they were all so similar that it really wasn’t enticing.  Now I’ll admit, three-somes in novels are not usually my thing. There have been a handful of instances where I’ve felt that they worked out, but this isn’t one of them. Though I know it’s a thing for many women, I’m just not into two guys going at it. To each his own, but I prefer M/F relationships in my novels. That’s what is appealing to me.

There didn’t seem to be a lot of depth to the characters; so little time was spent developing them that when it got to the steamy bits, I was underwhelmed. I didn’t feel connected to the group, and so when the three-some got together, I almost wanted to skip the whole thing. I just wasn’t interested, and that didn’t let up right until the end of the book. I wasn’t emotionally invested in the group, and so watching their sex antics felt, well, gross.

Overall, the book wasn’t bad, and I’m sure there’s a lot of people out there who will enjoy it 10x as much as I did, but it just wasn’t for me. The subject matter wasn’t high on my list for an erotic novel, and so I didn’t enjoy it. Would I recommend it to others? Sure. If you like three-some erotica with shifters (that by the way, only shift three times in the entire book) then more power to you.  It’s just not my thing.

One thought on “Book Review: Protecting The Pack

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Fated Mates Box Set | Author Unpublished

Comments are closed.