Book Review: Bear King’s Curves

 

review-cover-bearking'scurves

Title: Bear King’s Curves

Author: A.T. Mitchell

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Erotica

Rating: 1 Star

AmazonButton

GoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

Lyla Redd has just stolen her last precious artifact from the Klamath Bear Clan. The curvy smuggler got away with it before, but she doesn’t know serious danger can arrive anytime in big, dark, and very muscular packages.

When werebear Alpha Nick Tunder lays eyes on the voluptuous beauty he’s been sent to kill, he realizes the mission is a bust. Taking back his people’s treasure is the easy part. Keeping Lyla away proves much harder, especially when she pursues and ends up in his bed for a thorough spanking.
Then the other Klamath bears find a human woman on their turf. Fur and claws fly as Lyla is sentenced to a darker fate.

Soaring passions hide much to explore, just like the mysterious artifact that brought them together. Deep love, lust, and an answer to their woes in an ancient royal bloodline are almost in reach, if only they can put the pieces together and their hearts on the line.

Destiny makes very strange bedfellows and beautiful fated mates…

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

I read this book as part of the Fated Mates Box Set, so I am planning to give a review to each individual book in the set, and then the set as a whole at a later date. There are twelve books in the set, and it is currently for sale on Amazon for $0.99 at the time this review was written. This is book 4 of 12.

Did. Not. Finish. I greatly disliked this book. From the outset the narrative came across as so feminine, and weak that I was surprised to find that the character being portrayed at the time was the main male lead—and a grizzly shifter. The dialogue was unnatural and hokey throughout the first three acts that I read, and the narrative was no better. It came across as juvenile and flashy, but with no true substance. There was a multitude of spelling mistakes, missed words, and improper punctuation.

The character’s actions didn’t make sense, and seemed overblown and dramatic at best. The main female character, Lyla came across as crass and more than a little self-destructive. By the time the main couple got together and Nick was forcing Lyla to get drunk, I was ready to throw in the towel. The behavior of this couple was not healthy in any way. They manipulated and forced their way into situations in a way that made me sick to my stomach. I genuinely hated them and couldn’t find a redeeming quality in either of them. I was disgusted. I honestly don’t have anything positive to say about this book, so I’ll keep this short.

Overall, I didn’t like this book. I’m sure there’s people out there who’s tastes this will fit, but it isn’t me. Would I read it again? No. Would I recommend it? Only to those who enjoy raunchy erotic fiction with a side of BDSM and near-rape. It wasn’t my cup of tea.

One thought on “Book Review: Bear King’s Curves

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Fated Mates Box Set | Author Unpublished

Comments are closed.