Book Review: Change For Me

 

review-cover-changeforme

Title: Change For Me [Alpha’s Kiss 1]

Author: Lynn Red

Genre: New Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance

Rating: 4 Stars

AmazonButton

GoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

New faces were hard to come by in Fort Branch, Arizona. From the moment she saw Damon, Lily Kyle’s heart was stolen. He and Lily were inseparable, until he finally pushed her too far away.

Despite the distance Damon put between them, Lily never stopped loving him.

Motorcycle riding, rough-around-the-edges Damon King has a complicated life. He’s trying to juggle existence after high school, while attempting to get back the only girl he ever really loved. On top of all that? Damon has to figure out his new role as Alpha of a scattered pack of werewolves.

When Damon learns that Lily is more than just his high school sweetheart – she’s his fated soul mate – he also realizes he’s not the only Alpha in town. Will he be able to protect her, and drive his dangerous rival out of town before it’s too late? Or will his savage, feral werewolf rival tear Fort Branch apart and claim Lily first?

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

I read this book as part of the Fated Mates Box Set, so I am planning to give a review to each individual book in the set, and then the set as a whole at a later date. There are twelve books in the set, and it is currently for sale on Amazon for $0.99 at the time this review was written. This is book 3 of 12.

I really enjoyed this book. On the technical side of things, the story was fairly well written. There were a few misspellings and odd word order choices that threw me here and there, but they were few and far between. The narrative was engaging, and written in a voice (the voice of Lily) which was very personal and entertaining. It had a tendency to swim around in Lily’s head throughout the story, really showing off her thought processes and inner feelings – which I think helped to really draw me into the story.

The world building in this story was somewhat confusing to grasp—mostly because the main characters were kept in the dark for the majority of the story and didn’t know what was going on either. Subsequently, it was a little hard to grasp the intricacies of the two clans of werewolves, why they were fighting, and the rules of hierarchy and ascension into become a shifter. In the end, it really didn’t matter though. The core of this story was about Lily and how her world got turned upside down by the power struggle between Damon and Devin.

I will say, one of the few aspects of the story that I think really could have been improved, was the pace. It moved along quite slowly (though steadily). The romance and the plotline took what seemed like forever to develop, and so at times, I found myself skimming over some aspects of the story (as with the sex scenes which were easily 4-6 pages long) and the confusing discussions between Lily, Poko, and Damon. Though the pace was slow, for the most part, I still found the book engaging. I had a hard time peeling myself away from the story, and I was genuinely concerned for the characters.

I wish more time had been spent on the supernatural aspect of the story as far as the world building went, but I was happy to see that the author went into detail about the transformations of the shifters. I could imagine the sequences quite well, and it brought an aspect of believability to what was going on.

Overall, I really liked the story. I wish it had moved a little faster and more time had been spent on developing the world building, but I think the characterization and narrative were strong. I’d certainly read it again, and I’d recommend it to anyone who likes shifter-romances.

One thought on “Book Review: Change For Me

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Fated Mates Box Set | Author Unpublished

Comments are closed.