Book Review: Found

 

review-cover-found

Title: Found [The Crescent Chronicles 3]

Author: Alyssa Rose Ivy

Genre: New Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance, Urban

Rating: 4 Stars

AmazonButton

GoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

Levi might be hot, strong, and have a cool set of wings, but it’s not enough to make up for keeping Allie in the dark.

Allie’s tired of being left with more questions than answers. She’s tired of loving a guy who refuses to level with her. Most of all, she’s tired of her life spinning out of control.

Desperate to save Jess no matter the personal cost, Allie has to face the possibility that the only one she can trust is herself.

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

I think out of the three books in this series, Found is possibly my favorite, though it’s hard to explain why. Like the previous books, this one followed a very similar pattern to me of what did and did not work. The technical side of the writing was well-paced and well-written. I didn’t notice any grammatical, spelling, or punctuation mistakes, and the whole book kept a pretty even, jaunty pace throughout. I didn’t feel rushed, and I didn’t feel bogged down.

Like it’s predecessors, it did lack a bit of detail. The author has this somewhat frustrating penchant for never describing the atmosphere and visual aspects of any of the locals in these books. Instead, it seems the smallest, most irrelevant things (like the dresses that at this point we know are always going to be short and red) usually hog all the descriptive detail. I’ve gotten used to it over the course of the trilogy, but I’d be remiss if I didn’t express my displeasure.

As for the world building: we’re still talking bare bones. The world the author has painted for us in the Crescent Chronicles is one that I feel had a lot of potential. There’s this ominous court of supernaturals and an unfathomable hierarchy of creatures and royalty that is never truly explained. I would have loved to see the world filled out a little more, because I think given some more time, the author could have made it truly spectacular, but as it stands, the supernatural aspect of these books feels almost like a side-note to the true core of this story: the characterization.

The characters of this trilogy are truly the high-point of the author’s abilities. Regardless of the sometimes sickeningly sweet dialogue between the main couple, for the most part, the characters act with a great deal of depth and believability throughout this series. They aren’t always rational, pleasant, or smart people, but they act as I’d expect any true person to act. They are fallible and likeable—and that is a great indicator of the author’s writing ability.

I really enjoyed the dynamics of the character’s relationships this time around. Unlike the first two books, I didn’t feel quite as frustrated with Allie and Levi’s relationship—though I will admit that I was a bit creeped out by the fact he knew what she was and never said anything. Seriously, can the guy not act like an ass for once? Still, I was happy to see the couple going strong, and I really enjoyed getting the chance to get to know some of the other characters better in this installment to the series.

I will say: The sex scenes didn’t get any better—and believe me, there are a ton of them in this story. It’s odd to me that the author would include so many sex scenes and yet every single one of them feels incomplete and glossed over. They aren’t steamy in the slightest, in fact, for the most part, huge sections of the scenes are skipped over. It’s as if the author leads up with the urgency for the act, goes through the motions of stripping the characters down, and then POOF, it’s the end and they’re talking about how awesome it is. I want to see the awesome! I don’t know if the author is uncomfortable with the sex scenes (which seems silly considering how many scenes there are) or if she simply isn’t good at writing them. Regardless, they certainly left something to be desired, and didn’t improve even this far into the series.

That aside, I really enjoyed the book. There was a lot more action, mystery, and thrills involved in this installment that kept me enthralled right up until the very end, and I enjoyed nearly every moment of it. It was nice to see Allie finally stepping up and showing some of that kick-ass attitude I always suspected she had, and while the ending was a little overly mushy for my tastes, I was happy with how the issue of the throne resolved itself between the three contenders.

Would I read this again? Certainly. Though I didn’t expect to, I really enjoyed the series. Would I recommend it? Without a doubt. I know I’ll be watching out for more of the author’s work. I would like to say though: If you really want to enjoy this series, you can’t expect to go into these stories thinking of this like your typical paranormal romance. If you do, you’ll be disappointed. The strength in this series lies with the characterizations of the characters, not necessarily in the world building or the sexy bits like most novels in these genre’s. I think with an open mind, it could be very easy to enjoy this series…just leave your preconceptions at the door.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Found

Comments are closed.