Book Review: UnEnchanted

 

review-cover-UnEnchanted

Title: UnEnchanted [An Unfortunate Fairy Tale 1]

Author: Chanda Hahn

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Rating: 4 Stars

AmazonButton

GoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

Mina Grime is unlucky, unpopular and uncoordinated, that is until she saves her crush’s life on a field trip, changing her High School status from loser to hero overnight. But with her newfound fame brings misfortune as an old family curse come to light. For Mina is descended from the Brothers Grimm and has inherited all of their unfinished fairy tale business. Which includes trying to outwit a powerful Story from making her its next fairytale victim.

To break the fairy tale curse on her family and stop these deadly events, Mina must finish the tales until the very Grimm end.

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

I liked this book more than I expected to. I picked up UnEnchanted on Amazon some time ago because it sounded interesting, had a great cover, and was more importantly, FREE at the time I purchased it. Of course, being a frequent free-book-offender, I was well aware that a good portion of the time, when I pick up a book free on Amazon, I cannot expect it to be spectacular. Most of the time, the free books are indie books with questionable editors, and sometimes, questionable authors. I was therefore pleased to find out, UnEnchanted did not fit into that category.

Now don’t get me wrong, there were several issues I had with the book. Some of these issues include: Missing words, misspelled words (there are only a few, I promise), and a few incoherent moments where plot holes swallowed up bits of the narrative—but overall, I still genuinely liked the book.  It is a Young Adult book, so I may give it a bit of leeway for some issues. The characters were sometimes dramatic (though not overwhelmingly so in my opinion), and it was an incredibly fast read (216 pages). So, understandably, a lot of detail was left out at times, and the plot moved along very quickly over a short period of time. I will admit that this bothered me a bit. I would have preferred the author to have taken more time to develop the story—because I really think it could have been even better, but I’m still going to give the book an overall rating of 4 stars. If nothing else, than for effort.

This was a cute story. I genuinely liked the characters (who weren’t overly whiney as in most Teen novels), the changes to the classic fairytales were clever and certainly a new take on stories that have been re-hashed hundreds of times. The romance was sweet, and mystery permeated the pages as both I, and the main character, Mina, worked to unravel various aspects of the plot. I will admit that I wasn’t entirely pleased with the villains. It’s not so much that they were poorly written, or overly dastardly (as with many novels), but that I didn’t really feel that strongly about any of them. I’m sure they were supposed to be scary – and I had no trouble believing they were scary to Mina…but… eh, not so much to me.

Overall, I’d certainly recommend this book to anyone who likes whimsical urban tales of fairytales set askew, YA or otherwise. I’m going to be looking into other books from this author in the future.

