Book Review: Clockwork Prince [Infernal Devices 2]

 

review-cover-clockworkprince

Title: Clockwork Prince [The Infernal Devices 2]

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Historical, Romance, Steampunk

Rating: 5 Stars

AmazonButton

GoodreadsButton

Description/Synopsis:

In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when it becomes clear that the mysterious Magister will stop at nothing to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends.


With the help of the handsome, tortured Will and the devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal and fueled by revenge. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister knows their every move—and that one of their own has betrayed them.

Tessa is drawn more and more to Jem, though her longing for Will continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa answers about who she really is? As their search leads to deadly peril, Tessa learns that secrets and lies can corrupt even the purest heart.

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

I have fallen in love with this series. I genuinely liked The Mortal Instruments series by Ms. Clare, but it was only when I started the Infernal Devices series that I truly began to appreciate Ms. Clare’s ability to write convincing fiction.

In the Mortal Instruments series I was endlessly frustrated by the manufactured love triangle between Clary, Jace, and Simon. That may have something to do with my great dislike of Simon, but nonetheless, a love triangle is only convincing if all the parties involved are equally favored by the reader. In this series, that is clearly evident.

For once, I am torn. I really like Tessa as a heroine, and equally, I am drawn towards both Jem and Will. I honestly can’t tell you which one I favor more. They’re both such tragic characters, and both so good and loving in their own way that I can’t help but feel saddened by the situation Tessa has found herself in. On the one hand I think Will has much more passion than Jem, and despite his brooding, sometimes cruel personality, I do like him. I can understand that his standoffishness is a mechanism to keep people at arm’s length. Equally, Jem is a truly caring, kind boy who unfortunately, has a short lifespan ahead of him. Both are so desperately in love with Tessa, and unfortunately, Tessa loves them both as well (even if she’s not always willing to admit it). I have an inkling that perhaps Tessa is meant to be with Will in the end (and we’ll see if I’m correct) but the thought of her leaving Jem makes my heart break for them. I am so glad I am not in her shoes.

This second installment of the Infernal Devices trilogy was every bit as good as the first book. It’s been awhile since I’ve come across a group of characters that are so easily likeable and tragic–and none of them have come across as ridiculously over dramatic, two dimensional, or annoying. Though there are some characters I maybe don’t feel as close to (What’s the new cook’s name? I honestly can’t remember – though I love her tawdry murder-filled songs!), I can’t pick out a single character that really got under my skin as with Ms. Clare’s other series.

The characters are so full of depth and true human emotion, I find it hard not to fall head-first into the world building of this story. Maybe it’s the romance of the Victorian era, the stunning characters or the thrilling plot, but I can’t seem to put this series down.

This is a short review because I honestly don’t have anything negative to say about this book. I’d happily recommend it to anyone, and I’ll definitely be reading it again and again!

