Book Review: The In Between [The In Between 1]

cover-theinbetween

Title: The In Between [The In Between 1]

Author: Catherine Converse

Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Urban, YA/Teen, Thriller

Rating: 3 Stars (the lower spectrum)

buy4._V192207739_

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Description/Synopsis:

Two girls with opposing backgrounds join a secret intelligence agency located deep in the earth located deep in the earth to remain hidden from society, where their psychic dreams are used to prevent murder. As the girls form a unique friendship, they begin to dream about the same serial case, triggering a chaos that spirals through the agency tunnels. They discover that the agency may not be all that it seems, and the lives they need to save are their own.

WARNING – SPOILERS MAY ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – REVIEW BELOW

I have luke-warm feelings about this book. This book is about a girl, Adie, whose entire life has been over-shadowed by her secret ability to dream murders before they happen. She learned at a very young age that these dreams were prophetic—real—but she never dreamed she could keep the murders from happening. That is until one day she gets an invite to a secret facility where she learns there are others like herself, and together, she teams up with this secret organization to help stop her dreams from ever coming true.

It’s a great plot. Unfortunately, the execution fell flat. Right from the very beginning I knew things were going to go wrong. The author seemed to put a little too much effort into pushing certain details and events forward, and it quickly became evident that I was going to be force-fed any important information I needed to know – rather than letting me figure things out for myself. The story lacked subtlety.

To make matters worse, the story was rushed. Large sections of time were leaped over without any real filler information to help ease the gap, relationships were instant to an absurd degree, and when anything went wrong, the characters seemed to instantly know how to fix any situation. The whole thing felt plotted, and rather than sinking into the story and the lives of the characters, I felt like I was watching a an almost cartoon-esque caricature of life.

The “evil” characters were laughable and went into long explanations of their evil plans like any cartoon villain. The “good” characters seemed to always know what to do and came to brilliant realizations without having put forth any effort. The clues of the plot felt like they were being displayed in front of my eyes by Vanna White. It got old quickly.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the book, and I managed to finish from one end to the other, but it wasn’t more of doctor’s office read for me. It’s not something I would have spent an afternoon on had I known where it was going. I think given some time and effort on the author’s behalf, this could have been cleaned up into a very decent YA novel, but it fell short. The story, and the characters in it, never felt real to me,

Also, there was an abundance of technical issues; words were left out of sentences, punctuation was miss-used, words were misspelled. Would I read it again? No. Would I recommend it? I’d like to say yes, but honestly, I don’t think I would. I didn’t dislike the book (which is why this got a 3 star rating) but I have to say, it was rather “meh”.

