2014–HAPPY NEW YEAR!

 

23321365-new-year-2014-on-snow-covered-wooden-desk

Dear 2013…

You were an interesting year. You brought about some decent art, a lot of illnesses, and very little writing. You did, however, begin my blogging and reviewing career, so thank you for that. I wish you’d been more productive, but I can admit my own fault in the lack-of-anything getting done. I managed to read more than 100 books this past year (though I was too lazy to update my goodreads challenge, so I still look like a failure.) Despite my laziness and annoying penchant for getting dramatically ill on a regular basis, it was a good year. I finally got some much needed allergy testing done (and discovered I was allergic to –everything-) – the weekly doctor visits aren’t as bad as anticipated. I also had an interesting experience going deaf for a few weeks when I ruptured my eardrums. That wasn’t as much fun. I’m currently suffering from the third week of a flu-that-never-went-away (at this point I’m leaning towards pneumonia), but despite all that, I still had fun, and I learned a lot.

Dear 2014…

I’m looking forward to you. Despite being ill, I have hope that this year is going to be less germ-inducing, and more productive. Last year my resolution was to get some writing done.. which I didn’t. I’d like to put forward a similar resolution this year. This year I vow to put more effort into the things I love. I’d like to make up some sort of schedule where I post regularly on my blog, review books, and work on my writing that I so neglected last year. I know it’s going to be hard, and tiring (I’m always super busy, and lately, constantly sick). I know it’s going to be a challenge, but I won’t let it beat me. It’s time to get up off my ass and get some things done this year – no matter what kind of obstacles life wants to throw at me and my immune system. So enjoy the Holiday, self, because it’s time to roll up your sleeves and get to work.

Dear Everyone-Who-Isn’t-Me…

I hope you all had a lovely holiday season and I wish you all the very best for this upcoming year. I hope that whatever your resolutions are, you stick with them this year, and I will personally try harder to help encourage you all to stay on track. I hope everyone this year strives to do what they can to help and encourage those around them. This has always been one of the most friendly and inspiring communities I’ve been involved with, and here’s to another year of fantastic friends and creative inspirations. I wish you all the very best in your endeavors and happiness for 2014.

