Nightmares & Hauntings: PART 3 (Story Time!)

haunted-house-with-ghost-22978-hd-wallpapers-background

(Continued from PART 2)

After high school there was a summer where I stayed in that second house. I was 17, not yet old enough to move out, and my parents had decided to go on a trip to Vegas for 2 weeks, leaving me home alone. My sister had started college (I couldn’t afford to go), and I’d asked my two best friends to spend the two weeks with me. (There was no way I was going to stay in that house alone for two weeks.) During the day my two friends went to work, and jobless, I stayed home.

It was on this particular day that I was in the middle of a phone call with my best friend (planning a grocery shopping trip that evening) and I walked down the 3rd floor staircase onto the second floor. Now, the way our house was set up, the third and basement floor staircases both emptied into the living room,  right next to each other. Across from the staircases sat our large screen TV (which was off). As I stepped onto the second floor, I happened to glance up, and caught an image of a little girl standing on the staircase that lead down into the basement, beside me. She was reflected in the darkened TV screen.

Freaked out, I spun around to look at the steps, and standing there plain-as-day was a girl. She was maybe 6-8 years old, had long dark brown hair, and wore a little dress. She had a headband in her hair, and no shoes. I can’t remember what her face looked like, or even if she looked at me, but I have never run so fast in my life.

Phone-in-hand, and with me screaming at my poor best friend, I raced through the living room, into the dining room, and out the back door onto our deck. The door slammed shut behind me, and I ended up standing at the far side of the yard, shaking, and staring at the house like it was going to eat me. I’ve never been so terrified in my life – and that’s counting the time I was forced to hide in an outhouse for 45 minutes while a black bear and her cub tried to get in. (true story)

I just remember jabbering into the phone to my friend, telling her what I’d seen, and her telling me she was on her way back to my house. I took a few minutes to calm down, and finally decided I needed to go back into the house. I didn’t have shoes on, and the phone needed to be re-charged (cordless kitchen telephone). Problem was, when I tried to open the back door, it wouldn’t budge. Now what you have to realize is, this door was one of those that only locked from the inside with a key. You couldn’t just turn a latch and lock it, and you couldn’t open the door from either side while it was locked. I hadn’t locked the door, and I didn’t have a key on me.

I ended up having to circle the house to a basement window in that back bedroom I mentioned earlier (that felt wrong) because we usually left it unlocked for emergencies, and I crawled into the basement, and walked the length of it, up the stairs I’d seen the girl standing on, and into the 2nd floor again. I’d never seen her before that day, and I’ve never seen her since, but I got the general gist of what she wanted that day. It felt like I was being put in my place. It was her house. I moved out at the end of summer.

Still, no one believes me when I tell them what I saw that day – except maybe my best friend who heard the panic in my voice over the phone.

Every place I’ve lived after that house hasn’t been haunted. (although I had an apartment were the ceiling started to turn black and part of it peeled away…. I was just waiting for a corpse to fall out of my attic at that point… it was right after the Grudge came out.. and it turned out to be toxic mold and a burst pipe) I’ve never had that feeling again where it felt wrong to enter a room. I haven’t heard footsteps or voices. Nothing. However, my experiences as a child did fuel my love of the supernatural. Take all of this into consideration as I get into the next part of my story, because the context is important.

(Continued in PART 4)

4 thoughts on “Nightmares & Hauntings: PART 3 (Story Time!)

  1. I believe you, too. When my husband and I were looking for a single family home there were several that freaked me out- a feeling washed over me. One in particular was very creepy- it was a 70’s style 3 level log cabin house, dark and narrow. In the basement there were a ton of phone jacks and wires- the previous owner must have been up to something shady. Fortunately I don’t feel anything supernatural in the home we bought.

    Like

  2. Oh. My. God. That is absolutely horrible. I respect you for having the courage to actually go BACK in there after that, how did you even? If that happened to me, I’d never go back again, EVER, unless someone was with me, and even then…

    Like

Comments are closed.