To Arms! A Pledge Against Writer’s Block

 

Image

This will probably get a few rants; it certainly did when I introduced the mirroring “art block” on DeviantART as a sham, but I’ll be blunt:

I don’t believe in Writer’s Block.

In fact, I choose not to believe in it. Writer’s Block is a phrase that I believe is thrown around too often. It’s an excuse for a writer’s inability to write, and it’s a convenient lie in a world where we’ll do anything to avoid seeing things for what they are.

In my humble opinion, Writer’s Block is what people say instead of: Laziness, Procrastination, Lack of Motivation, and Lack of Inspiration. Don’t feel like writing today? Writer’s Block! Tired? Writer’s Block! I rather be watching Game of Thrones… Writer’s Block!

I have chosen to remove Writer’s Block from my vocabulary. It doesn’t exist. There are days when I’m too lazy, too busy, and too tired to write, but I will not call it Writer’s Block. I call it like it is.

Today, I rather check my messages on WordPress, DeviantART, Tumblr and YouTube than write. I would rather go outside and hang laundry on my clothesline. I would rather do dishes, or watch a movie. I am tired, have had a cold that I’m still recovering from, and no, I don’t plan to write today. I don’t have Writer’s Block. I have Writer’s LIFE.

There’s a million and one articles all over the net for “curing Writer’s Block”, but how can you cure something that doesn’t exist?. I’m going to go against the grain and suggest that instead of throwing out an all-encompassing excuse for our inability to write, we acknowledge it for what is, and cure THAT.

Tired? Take a nap. Lack of inspiration? Go find some art, movie, or another book to read for awhile. Maybe you’ll get an idea. Lack of motivation? Take a day off, do something else. Clean your computer desk and open a window. Clean work spaces and fresh air lead to creativity. Procrastinating? Get your butt in gear! Do you really want to be sitting here a year for now without any progress? Books don’t write themselves.

Today I am making an open declaration of war on Writer’s Block. I will no longer believe in this mythological demon that insults my intelligence and pollutes my workspace. From this day forward I pledge to call my inability to write exactly what is. No more excuses.

8 thoughts on “To Arms! A Pledge Against Writer’s Block

  1. Interesting theory…I really like it! My big downfalls are YouTube, Facebook, and household duties. My new source of inspiration is Pinterest. I follow an author who pins all kinds of quotes, writing articles, character development photos, and potential book settings.

    Like

  2. I agree with you, 100%! I forced myself to sit in this chair all day editing, formatting, and writing a synopsis for my story collection. Was it fun? Hell no. Was it more important to me than sitting outside in actual nice weather, reading one of many books on my TBR list? ( it’s been raining a lot lately) Yes! You just have to make your self sometimes and after awhile it comes a bit more naturally.

    Like

  3. I don’t believe in Writer’s Block either, though I never got all gung-ho-ey about it. I’ve always known what I wanted to do, even if I didn’t know exactly how to write it. Rather than agonize I would just do something else for an hour or so, and whenever I’d sit back down the words would come out properly again. My main reason for slow writing? Too interested in other things (coughvideogamescough).

    Like

    • lmao i used to use writer’s block as an excuse when i was younger… mostly because i was lazy. I’m with you though. right now my biggest downfall is distractions. Skyrim… messages on deviantart/wordpress/tumblr/twitter… I need to unplug for like a week and get some work done. It doesn’t help that I have this constant pressure of artwork hanging over my head right now. my tablet’s broke but I still have commissions piling up in the background T_T it gives me writer’s guilt.

      Like

  4. I have a hard time relating because I can always write. Occasionally, I do get stuck on something that I want to write, but usually the cure for me is just some rest.

    I expect there may be a psychological component. Once you diagnose yourself with Writer’s Block, that probably makes matters worse.

    It also helps to keep the muse pleased. That’s a great quote from Calvin & Hobbes. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Haha thanks for your insight. I think you may be right. These days I just hear so many people blame writer’s block for -everything- because they don’t want to admit that maybe their inability to write may be their fault (like with procrastination). I used to use writer’s block as an excuse when I was younger, but these days I like to call it what it is. I can admit that sometimes I’m just lazy and need a day off ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Comments are closed.