Wednesday, and what I’ve been up to.

Hello Ladies and Gentlemen out there in blog-land. It has been a long summer, and it’s barely even begun. So, because I haven’t posted in a few days, I thought I’d check in and let everyone know what I’m up to.

First thing’s first: At the start of summer, my Wacom broke. I’m an artist, and I need my Wacom, so this was a fairly large event. At the time I already had several commissions lined up (but thankfully not paid for yet!) and so not having a Wacom was somewhat like getting a forced, unwelcome vacation. For unknown reasons, one day my Wacom simply wouldn’t pick up my pen. I freaked out, reinstalled the drivers, and rebooted. Subsequently, my Wacom decided it would pick up the pen, but read all pen movement as clicking when I tried to paint. (Outside of my paint program it worked fine.) Again, I reinstalled drivers and rebooted. My wacom now works just fine in my paint program and outside the paint program… except it has no pressure sensitivity–which, I need.

W. T. F. is wrong with you Wacom?!

I’m still trying to figure it out. Meanwhile, I can’t do any art, and so my income has dwindled to nothing… since I make the entirety of my income on selling artwork commissions. Yay! *raises little black flag of sarcasm and twirls it around* I am continuing to try and fix my tablet, but meanwhile I’m enjoying my forced vacation from art (I needed a break I suppose), and if I can somehow not manage to have it fixed by September, I’ll probably have to cough up the money to buy a new one, somehow.

Meanwhile, I have managed to make a HUGE dent to organizing my e-book library (despite my inability to avoid downloading new books daily). I’ve sorted all but 2,200 of my 9,700 E-books. *thumbs up*. You guys really have no idea how traumatic and tedious this experience has been. I’ve literally loaded every single e-book to make sure it’s not corrupt, re-download those that are, done some legally questionable things to fix them so I can read them both on my Kindle and on my PC (cause it’s stupid that I can’t read a book I legally bought on any one of my reading devices I so choose). Ahem. Then, I run a search for the ISBN’s, meta data, cover art, and synopsis, compile all of that information into the book’s first three pages, remove the table of contents (because I hate them), reconvert the multitude of formats to azw3 (so my kindle can read it in a format that looks nice), and then sort by my own self-made genre’s that make sense. (because I’m tired of opening up a book and having it tagged by historical dates, character’s name, and 30 other tags that don’t matter).

Needless to say, it’s been an ordeal, and hopefully something I only have to do once.

Aside from that, I’ve spent most of my summer doing laundry by hand and hanging it out in my yard to dry (this takes up several hours of each day) because my dryer broke in winter–washing my dishes (also by hand) because my dishwasher broke… also in winter, attempting to work on writing/editing the multitude of my own books (so maybe I can publish sometime in my lifetime), and doing some basic copy-editing and proofreading for various new authors I know who’ve decided my opinion is valid.

I’ve been a busy little Cary to say the least. On the plus side, my financial situation will be changing very shortly, which I’m extremely excited about, and by Christmas time I may finally have the funds to MOVE out of the hell-hole of a house I’ve been living in for the past 7 years, and buy my own house. As a bonus, my family’s debt will be taken care of after years of struggling, and I may actually have money to buy groceries the last two weeks of every month. It’ll be a new experience. I’m desperately hoping to have my own office in the new house I’ll eventually move into so that I can record videos, work on writing, and art in peace and quiet. Unfortunately, due to this change in my financial situation, life will be much MUCH harder for the next three months. I’m going to look at it as a temporary apocalypse and pray for September to hurry up and get here.

Meanwhile, I will continue to blog and do book reviews. I have a few waiting around I need to go ahead and write up, but I’ve spent the past day playing Minecraft to avoid work because I’m stressed out. I promise I’ll get around to it. Minecraft eats my soul. Something about my extreme OCD thrives off the perfectly cube-shaped world.

I hope everyone’s having a great week so far and is getting more done than I am. I look forward to posting again this Friday with another Free Fiction Friday post–which everyone seems to look forward to (based on the amount of page views I seem to get near the weekend). I may even do something special one day soon and give out some self-made blog awards. I’m 1 follower away from having my first 100 followers (blog only and not related to twitter, facebook, etc) so I’d like to celebrate the milestone with a special post.

See you guys soon!

3 thoughts on “Wednesday, and what I’ve been up to.

  1. I seriously think that you’re in need of a hug right now.
    *computer hug*
    😦

    I hope everything works out alright during this ‘between’ time until September. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that it passes quickly for you!

    Like

    • Thank you! haha I’ve been just been so busy and stressed lately -_- but hopefully come september a lot of stuff will change and i’ll at least have a few things to not worry about again πŸ™‚

      Like

Comments are closed.