Book Review: The Eternity Cure [Blood of Eden 2]

ImageTitle: The Eternity Cure [Blood of Eden 2]

Author: Julie Kagawa

Genre: Paranormal, Romance, Dystopian, Vampires, Post-Apocalyptic

Rating: 5 Stars

buy4._V192207739_

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Description/Synopsis: Allison Sekemoto has vowed to rescue her creator, Kanin, who is being held hostage and tortured by the psychotic vampire Sarren. The call of blood leads her back to the beginning—New Covington and the Fringe, and a vampire prince who wants her dead yet may become her wary ally.

Even as Allie faces shocking revelations and heartbreak like she’s never known, a new strain of the Red Lung virus that decimated humanity is rising to threaten human and vampire alike.

WARNING – SPOILERS WILL ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – DETAILED REVIEW BELOW

I didn’t think it was possible to top The Immortal Rules, the first book in the Blood of Eden series by Julie Kagawa. I was wrong. I absolutely loved the second book. Despite the fact that I had a ton of work to do over the past two days, I hunkered down and read through this book – forsaking work – because I simply couldn’t put it down.

I was so glad to see the return of Zeke, Allie, Kanin, and even Jackal. I hated the bad guys (just as I should) and loved the good guys. I applauded their attempts (although sometimes foolish) to do the right thing, and was glad to see that time apart hadn’t changed Zeke and Allie. I have to admit a certain fan-crush on Jackal at this point. He’s so evilly charming and entertaining – I hope he stays in the series until the end.

The end had me absolutely screaming out in rage. Was I mad at the author? Not in the slightest. I loved the ending! I was so angry at Sarren by the end of the last page that had I been a character in the book, I would have grabbed up a weapon and gone charging after him along side Allie. I hope that guy gets what’s coming to him.

As with the first book, this story was fast-paced, deeply engaging, and full of captivating characters. The worst thing I can say about this book is that the next book in the series won’t come out for a long time. Waiting is going to be akin to being strung up in Sarren’s torture cells.

Write faster Julie Kagawa. Write faster.

