Book Review: The Bane

ImageTitle: The Bane [Eden Trilogy 1]

Author: Keary Taylor

Genre: Sci-Fi, Futuristic Dystopian, YA

Rating: 4, nearly 5 Stars (I’ll explain)

buy4._V192207739_

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Description/Synopsis: Before the Evolution there was TorBane: technology that infused human DNA with cybernetic matter. It had the ability to grow new organs and limbs, to heal the world. Until it evolved out of control and spread like the common cold. The machine took over, the soul vanished, and the Bane were born. The Bane won’t stop until every last person has been infected. With less than two percent of the human population left, mankind is on the brink of extinction.

Eve knows the stories of the Evolution, the time before she wandered into the colony of Eden, unable to recall anything but her name. But she doesn’t need memories to know this world is her reality. This is a world that is quickly losing its humanity, one Bane at a time.

Fighting to keep one of the last remaining human colonies alive, Eve finds herself torn between her dedication to the colony, and the discovery of love. There is Avian and West – one a soldier, one a keeper of secrets. And in the end, Eve will make a choice that will change the future of mankind.

The Bane is The Terminator meets The Walking Dead with a heart-twisting romance.

Previously published as Eden, due to reader demand it has been revamped and rereleased as The Bane: book one in The Eden Trilogy.

WARNING – SPOILERS WILL ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – DETAILED REVIEW BELOW

So, I received this novel for free on NetGalley with the promise to review it. Surprisingly, I didn’t realized until AFTER I’d read it that I recognized the author! The name sounded familiar but it was only after I’d gone back through my many archived reviews that I found out that Keary Taylor also authored another favorite series of mine (The Fall of Angels Series)!

That being said, I loved this book! I’ll be the first to admit that I’m a huge fan of anything dystopian, post-apocalyptic, or romance. I can’t get enough of it. Obviously, I devoured this book in a handful of hours and couldn’t seem to put it down. (At one point I was sitting on the floor next to an outlet so my kindle could charge because the battery died and I didn’t want to stop reading.)

When the story first started, I’ll admit that my first thoughts were “oh man.. this is really not connecting to me.” The main character seemed distant and the narrative was kind of stiff and disjointed. I pushed on, but it was probably nearly an entire chapter before I realized in an epiphany, that this weird style was an intended characterization and not due to poor writing.

When the story starts, the main character, Eve, (all though this doesn’t get explained till way later) has no emotions. She doesn’t understand human emotions at all… so when a friend dies, she really doesn’t know how to handle it. She sits a little off from the spectacle not really sure what to do or how she’s supposed to act.

It took me awhile, but eventually I came to really like her sort of off-kilter view of the world. Eve was tough, stubborn, and very practical in her views of the world. She was also brave, selfless, and … well… I guess a guardian to her group. As the plot wore on, and the people of Eve’s group of refugees/survivors battled the Bane (the cybernetic evil remains of what were once humans, taken over by nanobots and transformed into killing machines)… who reminded me of the Borg in a more mindless-drone sort of way, we discover that Eve was the first cybernetic person. She’s effectively a non-evil robot-person-hybrid.. and didn’t even know it. (Boy, I made that real clear, didn’t I?)

Of course, this brings up a whole host of issues not only for her group, but for herself. Imagine finding out that you’re basically a better version of the thing you hate/fear most in the world. That’ll certainly mess with a girl’s mind.  I thought the author did a fantastic job with the pacing and narrative throughout this book. I was pulled along from scene to scene and didn’t care – I was just hungry for more.

Now, the only reason this book didn’t get a whole 5 stars is this… (and I’m still giving it a tentative 4 nearly 5 rating.. ) I really disliked the ending. Forgive me if I pout, but I really wanted Eve to end up with West, her childhood friend, with whom she seemed to share a great amount of passion. *grumbles* Instead she ended up falling for Avian, who’s too old for her IMHO. I realize I’m just being whiny, but I was really cheering for West.

That aside, and on a more serious note, I did think the ending was wrapped up a little too cleanly. I think had the love triangle between West, Eve, and Avian not been cleared up at the end of the book (and maybe saved for the second) It would have been a stronger ending. I got so used to Eve waffling between the two and not really understanding her own emotions that when it got to the end and suddenly she knew who she loved, it felt a little forced. She went from no emotions to bubbly and dreaming of wedding dresses in just a few chapters and it felt like maybe it was moving a bit too fast.

That aside though, everything else about this book, I absolutely loved. I think the way the characters were portrayed in the narrative (especially Eve) was brilliant. The narrative was engaging and fast-paced, and the Bane as a “villain” of sorts was really entertaining. I think the synopsis was spot-on when it described this story as a mix between Terminator and The Walking Dead.

I’d highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Dystopian/Post-Apocalyptic Survival novels. Maybe not so much romance… it has romance, but I think a larger part of the story is about the struggles of the people living in this post-apocalyptic setting.. not necessarily the love triangle (though it certainly plays it’s part). It truly was a great read… and I’m probably only holding back that last star out of spite. Team West all the way baby.

