Book Review: The Convict’s Bounty Bride

ImageTitle: The Convict’s Bounty Bride

Author: Lena Dowling

Genre: Historical Romance

Rating: 5 Stars

buy4._V192207739_

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Description/Synopsis: Life as a convict in an Australian penal colony was brutal, but James Hunter had the advantages of raw physical strength and courage on his side. He survived, and now he is back; a self‐made man of means, determined to take the bride he was promised.
Lady Thea Willers knows nothing of the bargain her father made to save her brother, nor does she have any interest in marriage. It might be a radical idea, but what Thea wants is a career.
The revelation that her brother’s liberty depends on her marrying James Hunter is devastating. But nothing, it seems, has the power to shake Thea’s world upside down like James himself, or the way he makes her feel.

WARNING – SPOILERS WILL ENSUE BEYOND THIS POINT – DETAILED REVIEW BELOW

I’m going to try and keep the spoilers to a minimum because this book has not yet been published, so bear with me. I received my copy through NetGalley in return for some feedback/a review. First off, have you seen the cover? It is GORGEOUS. I love it when a book has a great cover (because yes, I do judge books by their covers sometimes. So sue me.)

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. The characters were interesting and strong-willed. The story was full of humor and crazy antics by the heroine, Thea, and there was some definite sizzling passion between Thea and James. (Can I have him now? Thea doesn’t really need James.. I’ll just.. borrow him, you know?) My only real complaint is that maybe the book was too short. I wanted more. A lot more. It’s not that anything felt missing from the story… I’m just super greedy with the stories I love, and I didn’t want this one to end. It was well-written, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I’d recommend this book to anyone who loves romances, bold heroine’s, and Harlequin books. I sped through it in about 2 hours, so it’s a great quick read for anyone who doesn’t have a lot of time to wade through a larger novel.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Convict’s Bounty Bride

    • 😄 I’m a total sucker for any romance, but I will admit a soft spot for historical (as long as it’s well done) Any time there’s a character involved that speaks out against the system, i’m so on their side. Thea seems to be one of those – she does about anything in her power to effectively remove herself from the gentry.

      Like

Comments are closed.