Another Day, Another Book

It has been a long day, and I can’t even tell you why. Have you ever had one of those days where you wake up, and you just can’t seem to… I guess, “be present”. It’s like you spend the entire day half-asleep, get absolutely nothing done, and by the end you’re still exhausted and wondering how on Earth it got to be such a long day? Well that’s what my day was like.

I did manage, however, to start reading a new book this morning that I LOVE. It’s got pirates. I promise I’ll do a review soon (maybe tomorrow?) I’m 60 something percent in and I can’t seem to stop reading. Just what I needed to get out of my book slump from the last few days!

In other news, I  won ANOTHER free book from Goodreads this morning! It’s: The Goddess Inheritance [Goddess Test #3] by Aimee Carter. I was one out of 10 people to receive an ARC out of 1,770 people. I can’t wait to get these new books in the mail in a few weeks!

For those of you baffled by my ability to win two free books in just a handful of days, let me say this:

A) I have awesome drop karma. What is drop karma? For those of you who play computer games, you know that sometimes in games certain items are rarer than others, and these rare items are usually heavily sought-after by the players in the game because of how hard they are to obtain. Well, in one particular game I used to play there was one item that dropped off only one type of monster and it dropped at a rate of .001%. That is incredibly rare. I’d known people to actively search out this item for 8 months straight and not get it.

One day, I decided I wanted that item too. So I went to where the monsters spawned, and I killed one. I got the item the very first monster I killed. I laughed about it to my friends and killed another monster. The second monster dropped the item too. Since that moment my friends and I used to brag that I had “awesome drop karma” because we noticed a pattern that no matter what game I played, for some unknown reason I seemed to be extremely lucky in getting particularly rare drops. It happened constantly – much to the dismay of my friends.

I now carry that phrase over into my real life, as I tend to have the same karma. I am an extremely lucky person, particularly in relation to contests. (I swear I’m not making this up). A few years ago I won one of the very first PSP’s in an online contest.. all I did was show up online. Then, when PSP Vita’s came out, I won another one in a completely unrelated contest. I have since won 3 books giveaways on Goodreads in the past few months, two of those just a day apart. *shrugs* what can I say other than “I have good drop karma.”

B) I’m also very stubborn and entered like… 300 something book giveaways – but we’ll pretend it’s the drop karma.

P.S. You know what I really hate when it comes to e-books? Crappy covers. I’ve been looking for some new e-books to download lately and I cannot tell you how many times I’ve run across book covers where the art is a couple of CG models rather than actual artwork or a photo. Plain text would look better. I can’t explain it, but CG human models look so fake and tacky on a book cover. The only thing worse (although maybe I prefer these over the CG models) are those god-awful photo-manipulations that look like someone let a 2 year old into Photoshop with a sharp pair of scissors and some paste. How hard is it to go to a place like DeviantART and hire an artist for $20-$50 to paint you a cover, or find some free stock images to use? I know the artists and photographs would certainly appreciate the business.

2 thoughts on “Another Day, Another Book

  1. you are so lucky! I have entered so many of those and just keep getting no’s.

    though if you want to extend your luck, I think there are still zero entries on my giveaway. (the book doesn’t really win the “beautiful cover” contest though. ;))

    Like

Comments are closed.