Won a book!

Wow, so today didn’t go as planned. I had every intention of working on art today, maybe get a few chapters of reading in, but instead I ended up taking care of a sick 9 year old. It’s not really conducive to work.

On the up side, I woke up this morning to check my e-mail and discovered I’d won one of three copies of Broken Illusions [Midnight Dragonfly 2] by Ellie James! I’ve never read any of her work, but the book seemed interesting when I spotted it in a giveaway on Goodreads. I’m looking forward to giving it a review.

For most of the day I’ve spent my time waffling between reading Cheyenne [Timeless Series 1] by Lisa Wiedmeier and Undertow by Callie Kingston. Earlier in the month I’d read and reviewed Lisa Wiedmeier’s Fated Novella (which is sort of like a prequal to Cheyenne) and gave it a rather lack-luster review. Seeing as I’d never read Cheyenne, I’d started with the prequel thinking it would set the story up. I was wrong. Turns out the prequel only really made sense if you’d read Cheyenne first. Who knew? So obviously, I was disappointed and completely lost, and ended up giving it a rather bad review.  I can only defend myself by saying that it is my firm belief that every book should be able to stand on it’s own, even if it’s from the middle of a series. As an author you can’t guarantee that all of your readers are going to read your books in the right order – and it’s silly to assume they will.

To make a long story short, Lisa Wiedmeier saw my review, and being the awesome person she is, offered me a free copy of Cheyenne in the hopes that I’d like it and give the series another try.  Well far be it from me to pass up a chance at a free book, or pass up giving something a second chance. So here I am, trying to read two books at once, and ending up reading neither.

Maybe I just woke up on the wrong side of the pillow this morning but I find myself nitpicking every single little detail in the writing on both novels. I’m the meanest editor ever. I’ve probably highlighted and left a note on every other line. So, for now I’m going to take a break, breathe, and hope I can give these books a fair reading after I’ve had a sufficient amount of caffeine.

The ridiculous part is, as an author myself (even unpublished as I am), I feel like I’m somewhat of a tougher critic than your average reader. When parts of the story just aren’t meshing right, I’ll call you out on it because I feel like I know what they should be doing and aren’t. It makes me feel mean and nitpicky, but at the very least I expect authors to have good grammar and understand basic verb agreement. Don’t they teach us this in elementary school?

I guess sometimes certain books just get under my skin. Enough ramblings for now.

